*Arc Review* Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things- Jacqueline Firkins

43261131In this charming debut about first love and second chances, a young girl gets caught between the boy next door and a playboy. Perfect for fans of To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before.

Mansfield, Massachusetts is the last place seventeen-year-old Edie Price wants to spend her final summer before college. It’s the home of wealthy suburbanites and prima donnas like Edie’s cousins, who are determined to distract her from her mother’s death with cute boys and Cinderella-style makeovers. Edie has her own plans, and they don’t include a prince charming.

But as Edie dives into schoolwork and applying for college scholarships, she finds herself drawn to two Mansfield boys who start vying for her attention. First, there’s Sebastian, Edie’s childhood friend, and first love. He’s sweet and smart and . . . already has a girlfriend. Then there’s Henry, the local bad boy, and all-around player. He’s totally off-limits, even if his kisses are chemically addictive.

Both boys are trouble. Edie can’t help but get caught between them. Someone’s heart is going to break. Now she just has to make sure it isn’t hers.

IMG_2250

My Review:

“Either Henry had hugged a tree recently or Lucifer endorsed cologne after all.”

Everyone who knows me knows that there is one thing that will make me dislike a book and that’s for the author to make it seem like cheating is okay. This book made me think that and I almost gave up reading this book a few times but I powered through. That was such a bad idea and a waste of my time. Cheating should not be glorified!!

Edie, the female protagonist made out with her best friend’s boyfriend, knowing that it was wrong. She also expected her friend to forgive her instantly. This same girl thought it was okay to pine after a guy that she grew up with knowing that he was in a very serious relationship. While using a guy (who she hates) that was into her to make this other jealous, she still used him to get this taken guy. It was pathetic and disgusting.

Throughout this book, there was cheating, mentions of cheating, and jealousy cheating. I couldn’t handle all of that. Plus it made me feel that if you have money and do these sorts of things, that it makes it okay. This is definitely not okay in my opinion.

This book was definitely not for me. I shouldn’t have wasted my time but I was hoping that Edie would finally get what she deserved. The only reason why I gave this two stars was because the characters within were obsessed with books/reading. How can you say no to that? But that’s the only thing I enjoyed.

Yes, we’ve all made mistakes but it was pretty repetitive here. There are a lot more amazing contemporaries out in the world, so don’t bother with this one.

 

4 thoughts on “*Arc Review* Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things- Jacqueline Firkins

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s