*Blog Tour + Review* The Boundless by Anna Bright

book cover (1)

Title: The Boundless (The Beholder #2)

Author: Anna Bright

Publisher: HarperTeen

Release Date: June 9th 2020

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Retellings

Synopsis:

This breathtaking sequel to The Beholder will take you on a journey into a darkly sparkling fairy tale, perfect for fans of The Selection and Caraval.

 

When Selah found true love with Prince Torden of Norway, she never imagined she’d have to leave him behind. All because the Beholder’s true mission was a secret Selah’s crew didn’t trust her to keep: transporting weapons to the rebels fighting against the brutal tsarytsya, whose shadow looms over their next port of Shvartsval’d. A place Selah hoped she’d never go.

But gone is the girl who departed Potomac filled with fear. With a stockpile of weapons belowdecks and her heart hanging in the balance, Selah is determined to see the Beholder’s quest to its end.

IMG_2250

Preorder Today!

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository 

iTunes | Kobo | Google Books 

sword 1

Author Information

anna bright

Anna Bright is an indie bookseller by day and an author by night who still gets in trouble for reading when she’s supposed to be doing other things. When not hiding out among books, she loves concerts, roller coasters, and adventures at home and abroad. Anna lives with her husband and cat in a charming cobblestoned neighborhood in Washington, DC, but you can find her online at www.annabrightbooks.com and on Twitter and Instagram at @brightlyanna.

Website | Goodreads | Twitter | Instagram

sword 1

My Review

Avast! This is a review for the sequel to The Beholder. Please know that are some spoilers below that give away some plot points from the first book. If you would like to read my review of the first book, you can find that here

I loved the story of The Beholder but the sequel’s story is full of more adventure and high stakes and that makes for one heck of a thrilling ride. I truly could not put this book down – and I may have been hoping for some Selah and Torden scenes (don’t worry fellow shippers, there are!). Romance does take a more background role in this story, but that’s to make room for the heart of this sequel and that’s to showcase rebellion and bravery. I usually don’t love sequels more than the first book, but The Boundless exceeded all my expectations. It’s a sequel worth all the praise.

”I already know where my journey ends. It leads me home, to you.”

Selah becomes such an exceptional character in The Boundless. She’s stronger, braver, and she realizes she has the power to change her fate. I loved how Selah was no longer as shy as she was in The Beholder; she grasped the potential she knew she had and used that to become the person she knew she was meant to be. She has the capabilities to help the rebels and change the pace in the war. Her growth is extraordinary as a character and really demonstrates just how much a journey like Selah’s can change every outcome. But what’s also great is that Selah isn’t the only character readers will see grow and develop.

In the sequel, the readers get the opportunity to learn more about the characters from the first book, especially Lang and the crew. But I also loved the addition of some of the new characters. They added a new element to the story, and all the characters constantly challenged Selah, which was an aspect that led her to her new found confidence. Even though Selah is the main character, it was great to see some of the side characters take a much larger role in this story and grow in their own way.

“Not only monsters awaited us in Shvartsval’d, inside the gray boundaries of the Imperiya Yotne. We would meet plots already in motion, characters in masks designed to deceive.”

Bright’s writing is just as strong and lush as The Beholder. She beautifully depicts every scene and character and truly makes this story a delightful ride. Bright also sprinkles in plenty of twists that keep readers on their toes and presents magnificently well-written villains. And the world building is vibrant and well depicted. I loved the world building more in this book than The Beholder. Bright’s writing was, overall, charming and rich, filled with dazzling storytelling and relatable characters.

It was sad to see this story come to an end, but everything wraps up wonderfully. The ending is beyond perfect and just what I was hoping for for Selah and her friends. I’m a fan of Bright’s storytelling and writing and I cannot wait to see where her next story takes us.

My rating: 4 out of 5 stars

sword 1

Pre-Order Campaign

pre-order campaign BOUNDLESS

The author is giving away two BOUNDLESS-themed cross-stitches, both pictured above.

Giveaway ends June 24th 2020.

Original Post

Rules

sword 1

#BeBoundless Campaign

The author is giving away a fairytale-themed necklace to one person who photoshops THE BOUNDLESS’s cover into a photo of themselves on an adventure.

Giveaway ends June 8th 2020.

Original post with information

Rules

sword 1

Tour Schedule

Check out the amazing bloggers part of this tour!

The Boundless Bannersword 1

Thank you, Fantastic Flying Book Club, for having us on this wonderful blog tour!

8974a-header2Bsml

Posted by

There is nothing better than a great cup of coffee and an even better book.

2 thoughts on “*Blog Tour + Review* The Boundless by Anna Bright

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s