*Blog Tour + Giveaway* Sisters of Sword and Song by Rebecca Ross

Sisters of Sword Cover

Book Title: Sisters of Sword and Song

Author: Rebecca Ross

Publisher: HarperTeen

Release Date: June 23rd 2020

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy

Synopsis:

From the author of The Queen’s Rising comes a thrilling YA stand-alone fantasy about the unbreakable bond between sisters. Perfect for fans of Ember in the Ashes, Sky in the Deep, and Court of Fives.

After eight long years, Evadne will finally be reunited with her older sister, Halcyon, who has been proudly serving in the queen’s army. But when Halcyon appears earlier than expected, Eva knows something has gone terribly wrong. Halcyon is on the run, hunted by her commander and charged with murder.

Though Halcyon’s life is spared during her trial, the punishment is heavy. And when Eva volunteers to serve part of Halcyon’s sentence, she’s determined to find out exactly what happened. But as Eva begins her sentence, she quickly learns that there are fates much worse than death.

IMG_2250

Preorder Today!

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository 

iTunes | Kobo | Google Books 

sword 1

Author Information

Rebecca Ross

Rebecca Ross grew up in Georgia, where she continues to reside with her husband, lively dog and endless piles of books. She received her bachelor’s degree in English from UGA. In the past she has worked at a Colorado dude ranch, as a school librarian, and as a live-time captionist for a college.

Website | Goodreads | Twitter | Instagram

sword 1

My Review

“Failure is never final unless you choose it to be.”

I was already a big fan of Rebecca Ross’s work from her first book, The Queen’s Rising. But Sisters of Sword and Song made me an even bigger fan of her writing and her worlds. It’s a beautifully crafted and tightly woven tale, filled to the brim with Ancient Greek mythology, the power of a sisterly bond, and emotional trepidations. This powerful stand-alone is deserving of all the praise and more.

At the center of this story is that powerful sibling relationship. Halcyon and Evadne are sisters who both lead two very different lives. Halcyon is a warrior while Evadne is a scribe. When Halcyon is accused of treason, Evadne agrees to work for five years for Lord Straton in exchange for her sister’s freedom. But Evadne uncovers secrets about Halcyon and her world that ultimately place both girls in the front lines of danger.

“There is steel within me. I will not bend. I will not break.”

The bond between Halcyon and Evadne is the heart of this story. Both sisters would do absolutely anything for one another. I loved being able to read from both of their perspectives and see how each handled the danger set in their path. Halcyon had secrets she had to keep hidden deep and Evadne had secrets she had to discover to prove her sister’s innocence. Both girls suffer from different types of pain, but that and all their grief is something each has to learn to overcome. And it wasn’t just the main relationship that hooked this story for me; I loved the side relationships and the budding romance. Everything about this book – the characters, the world, the story – was just magical and mesmerizing and I cannot wait to read this book again.

And let me just add: this world and its occupants are marvelous. Ross does a magnificent job of bringing this magical world to life. It’s so beautifully descriptive and filled with lush and vivid scenery. I fell in love with this world and the characters. It’s a world with darkness and light, magic and life. It’s a story with an intricately woven plot with gods and magic and love. I cannot express enough how captivating Ross’s writing is: she has created such an abundant and extraordinary world that I can still picture everything clear as day weeks after finishing the story.

I know Sisters of Sword and Song is a stand-alone, but I’m really hoping Ross visits this world again sometime in the future. It’s such a magical story steeped with breathtaking Greek mythology. Sisters of Sword and Song is a strong and powerful story, one I hope many readers fall in love with. This is, without a doubt, my favorite Rebecca Ross book so far – it’s a story I highly recommend!

My rating: 5 out of 5 stars

sword 1

Tour Schedule

Check out the amazing bloggers on this book tour!

TOUR BANNER (13)

sword 1

Giveaway

Prize: Win a copy of SISTERS OF SWORD AND SONG by Rebecca Ross + 4 myth cards (The Fall of Kirkos, Ari’s Shawl of Stars, The Entrapment of Pyrrhus, and Acantha’s Crown) [US Only]

Starts: June 17th 2020

Ends: July 1st 2020

SOSAS & Myth Cards

maxresdefault

sword 1

Thank you, Fantastic Flying Book Club, for having us on this wonderful blog tour!

8974a-header2Bsml

Posted by

There is nothing better than a great cup of coffee and an even better book.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s