It’s Monday, What Are You Reading? 8/10/20

Hello and welcome back to Monday!

Is anyone else counting down the days until fall? I know I am. I can’t wait! What’s your favorite season?

This week I’m going to read a book that I just received in the mail, a book that I just picked up at Dollar Tree, and a book that I picked up at ALA Midwinter.

What are you reading this week?

sword divider

The Iron King (The Iron Fey #1)- Julie Kagawa

44674898MY NAME IS MEGHAN CHASE.

In less than twenty-four hours, I’ll be sixteen. Countless stories, songs and poems have been written about this wonderful age, when a girl finds true love and the stars shine for her and the handsome prince carries her off into the sunset.

I DON’T THINK IT WILL BE THAT WAY FOR ME.

Something has always felt slightly off in Meghan Chase’s life, ever since her father disappeard when she was six. Ten years later, when her little brother also goes missing, Meghan learns the truth—she is the secret daughter of a mythical faery king and a pawn in a deadly war. Now Meghan will learn just how far she’ll go to save someone she loves, to stop a mysterious evil no faery creature dare face…and to find love with a young prince who might rather see her dead than let her touch his icy heart.

THE IRON FEY

The book that launched the beloved New York Times bestselling series is back. This limited 10th anniversary exclusive collectors’ edition includes a new Q&A with Julie Kagawa, original drawings by the author, the complete Guide to the Iron Fey, and a sneak peek at a brand-new novel in the Iron Fey series featuring Puck, Meghan and Ash.

IMG_2250

sword divider

The Blood Between Us- Zac Brewer

26198831Growing up, Adrien and his sister, Grace, competed viciously for everything. It wasn’t easy being the adopted sibling, but Adrien tried to get along; it was Grace who didn’t want anything to do with him. When their scientist parents died in a terrible lab fire, there was nothing left to hold them together.

After years apart, Adrien and Grace are now forced to reunite for their senior year, at the elite boarding school where their parents were teachers. Being back around everyone he used to know causes Adrien to examine the person he’s become, even while being back around Grace turns him into someone he doesn’t want to be. But all of those questions are cast aside when Adrien starts to suspect that Grace might be stealing their parents’ research and claiming it as her own—or worse, that she had a hand in their deaths. Suddenly, the only questions that matter are whether she’s guilty and, if so, what Adrien is going to do about it.

IMG_2250

sword divider

Stay Gold- Tobly McSmith

45306326Debut author Tobly McSmith delivers a coming-of-age teen love story about a transgender boy who’s going stealth at his new Texas high school and a cisgender girl who is drawn to him, even as she’s counting down the days until graduation. Perfect for fans of David Levithan, Becky Albertalli, and Jenny Han.

Pony just wants to fly under the radar during senior year. Tired from all the attention he got at his old school after coming out as transgender, he’s looking for a fresh start at Hillcrest High. But it’s hard to live your best life when the threat of exposure lurks down every hallway and in every bathroom.

Georgia is beginning to think there’s more to life than cheerleading. She plans on keeping a low profile until graduation…which is why she promised herself that dating was officially a no-go this year.

Then, on the very first day of school, the new guy and the cheerleader lock eyes. How is Pony supposed to stay stealth when he wants to get close to a girl like Georgia? How is Georgia supposed to keep her promise when sparks start flying with a boy like Pony?

Funny and poignant, clear-eyed and hopeful, Stay Gold is a story about finding love—and finding yourself.

IMG_2250

stacy

Posted by

There is nothing better than a great cup of coffee and an even better book.

8 thoughts on “It’s Monday, What Are You Reading? 8/10/20

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s