*Saturday Spotlight* These Violent Delights by Chloe Gong

These Violent DelightsTitle: These Violent Delights

Author: Chloe Gong

Publisher: Margaret K. McElderry Books

Release Date: November 17, 2020

Page Count: 464 pages

Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy, Retellings, Historical, Romance

Summary:

Perfect for fans of The Last Magician and Descendant of the Crane, this heart-stopping debut is an imaginative Romeo and Juliet retelling set in 1920s Shanghai, with rival gangs and a monster in the depths of the Huangpu River.

The year is 1926, and Shanghai hums to the tune of debauchery.

A blood feud between two gangs runs the streets red, leaving the city helpless in the grip of chaos. At the heart of it all is eighteen-year-old Juliette Cai, a former flapper who has returned to assume her role as the proud heir of the Scarlet Gang—a network of criminals far above the law. Their only rivals in power are the White Flowers, who have fought the Scarlets for generations. And behind every move is their heir, Roma Montagov, Juliette’s first love…and first betrayal.

But when gangsters on both sides show signs of instability culminating in clawing their own throats out, the people start to whisper. Of a contagion, a madness. Of a monster in the shadows. As the deaths stack up, Juliette and Roma must set their guns—and grudges—aside and work together, for if they can’t stop this mayhem, then there will be no city left for either to rule.

IMG_2250

sword 1

Purchase Links

AMAZON  |  BARNES & NOBLE  |  BOOK DEPOSITORY

INDIE BOUND

sword 1

Preorder Campaign

Chloe is running an awesome preorder campaign until November 24, 2020! You can find out more on Chloe’s website.

These Violent Delights Preorder Campaign

sword 1

 About the Author

Chloe Gone

Chloe Gong is an undergraduate at the University of Pennsylvania, studying English and International Relations. During her breaks, she’s either at home in New Zealand or visiting her many relatives in Shanghai. Chloe has been known to mysteriously appear by chanting “Romeo and Juliet is one of Shakespeare’s best plays and doesn’t deserve its slander in pop culture” into a mirror three times. You can find her on Twitter @thechloegong, check out her website at thechloegong.com or email her at chloegongwrites@gmail.com.

(Bio and headshot provided from Goodreads)

Posted by

There is nothing better than a great cup of coffee and an even better book.

One thought on “*Saturday Spotlight* These Violent Delights by Chloe Gong

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s