*Review* Kissing Lessons- Sophie Jordan

52130550. sx318 sy475 A steamy contemporary YA romance by New York Times best-selling author Sophie Jordan about a girl with a bad reputation giving lessons on how to attract guys for some extra cash—only to fall for her client’s golden-boy brother. For fans of Kami Garcia, Katie McGarry, and Netflix’s Sex Education.

Wild, beautiful, and (as rumor has it) experienced, Hayden Vargas doesn’t have time for love or relationships. She’s learned the hard way that the only person you can count on is yourself, and she’s hell-bent on earning enough money to leave her small, judgy Texas town as fast as possible. So when nerdy Emmaline Martin offers to pay Hayden for lessons in seduction, the money is so easy, there must be a catch. Enter the catch: Emmaline’s older brother, popular, all-around nice guy™ Nolan Martin, who doesn’t want his sister’s reputation tarnished by the school’s resident bad girl.

But Hayden should know that looks can be deceiving. Nolan may seem like a golden boy, but like Hayden, he has a few secrets of his own. And the more he meddles in her lessons with Emmaline, the more these polar opposites clash—and the more sparks fly. Turns out Nolan may have some lessons to teach Hayden, but only if she’s willing to learn.

IMG_2250

sword divider

My Review

“Happily ever after with another person is a lie. Contentment and happiness comes from yourself. Not other people.”

It’s always an exciting moment to read a book by an author that you’ve never read before. It’s honestly exhilarating. I geared myself up to read a book that was going to be a sassy contemporary with lots of funny scenes but no. Nope, not what we get at all. And I can honestly say that I’ll never read anything by this author again.

This book disgusted me. It made me feel bad for being who I am instead of encouraging people to embrace who they are. Why all the hate? Why all the shaming? Why have a male character go after a female character after he thinks horrible things about her? It’s gross.

Characters were shallow and sexist at that. Thanks, but no thanks. I want to be supported and not shamed. This whole entire book is cringey and I would never recommend this even to my worst enemy. I wish I could wipe reading this from my memory.

Kissing Lessons was a horrible and ugly read. Please don’t be fooled by the bright and fun cover because this book was nothing of the sort. There are so many amazing contemporary books out in the world. Just overlook this one like it doesn’t exist and you’ll have a very happy reading experience.

stacy

Posted by

There is nothing better than a great cup of coffee and an even better book.

4 thoughts on “*Review* Kissing Lessons- Sophie Jordan

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s