*Mini ARC Review* Cast in Firelight by Dana Swift

 

51630215Title: Cast in Firelight

Author: Dana Swift

Publisher: Delacorte Press

Release Date: January 19, 2021

Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy, Romance

Summary: The first book in an epic, heart-pounding fantasy duology about two royal heirs betrothed to be married, but whose loyalties are torn, and a ruthless enemy who threatens their world, perfect for fans of Sabaa Tahir, Hafsah Faizal, and Renée Ahdieh.

Adraa is the royal heir of Belwar, a talented witch on the cusp of taking her royal ceremony test, and a girl who just wants to prove her worth to her people.

Jatin is the royal heir to Naupure, a competitive wizard who’s mastered all nine colors of magic, and a boy anxious to return home for the first time since he was a child.

Together, their arranged marriage will unite two of Wickery’s most powerful kingdoms. But after years of rivalry from afar, Adraa and Jatin only agree on one thing: their reunion will be anything but sweet.

Only, destiny has other plans and with the criminal underbelly of Belwar suddenly making a move for control, their paths cross…and neither realizes who the other is, adopting separate secret identities instead.

Between dodging deathly spells and keeping their true selves hidden, the pair must learn to put their trust in the other if either is to uncover the real threat. Now Wickery’s fate is in the hands of rivals..? Fiancées..? Partners..? Whatever they are, it’s complicated and bound for greatness or destruction.

IMG_2250

Order Today!

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Indiebound 

Book Depository

sword 1

My Semi-Mini Review

Cast in Firelight is an absolutely delightful and delicious debut from the talented Dana Swift! I have so much love and compassion for this book and the characters, and I wish I had the second book in my hands. This is an epic fantasy tale that will keep your eyes glued to page. It’s a story with masterful world building, captivating characters, and a compelling storyline. Filled with action-packed scenes, a thrilling journey, and beautifully developed characters, it was a book I easily devoured. Cast in Firelight is a debut that does not disappoint. 

I loved Adraa and Jatin so so much. These two characters are everything, and keeping their true selves hidden from one another makes for some phenomenal moments, and some epic witter banter. I swooned over Jatin multiple times (it was inevitable, really). The character development of these two is extraordinary – they are easily some of my favorite characters. Adraa is fierce and a fighter; she refuses to give up. Jatin is a fighter, as well, but he also faces many struggles, like Adraa. Both characters have much to prove to the world, their kingdoms, but also themselves. And secret identities and arranged marriages are two of my favorite tropes, so this made the story even more exciting for me. 

Swift’s world building and magic system is exquisite and so unique. Swift has crafted a world that I was able to capture in my mind; her descriptions are beautiful and full of lush prose. Swift’s writing is fabulous and full of heart. I could tell by her words how much of herself she poured into this story. Cast in Firelight is so utterly captivating, it was so difficult to put down. Swift’s creation of the magic system is unique and one I absolutely loved. It fits the plot of the story very well. Overall, Swift has intricately woven a beautiful tale together with well-crafted writing and magnificent world building. 

Cast in Firelight is easily a debut I will not soon forget. It’s received a special spot among my favorite YA fantasy books. This epic adventure debut comes out tomorrow, so definitely consider adding this lovely book to your TBR and supporting the author! I also had the absolute pleasure of interviewing Dana for my blog, which you can find here

My rating: 5 out of 5 stars

nikole

Posted by

There is nothing better than a great cup of coffee and an even better book.

One thought on “*Mini ARC Review* Cast in Firelight by Dana Swift

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s