It’s Monday, What Are You Reading? 2/8/21

Hello and welcome to the Monday after the Super Bowl!!
Are you a football fan like I am? Did you watch the game? I watched it with my dog, Louie. Not sure that he liked me screaming at the tv. 

This week I’m going to read a book that I borrowed from the Library, a pre-ordered book that just arrived last week, and a Waterstones edition of a book. 
What are you reading this week?

sword divider

Here is the Beehive- Sarah Crossman

Here Is the BeehiveA brilliantly original debut about a love affair cut short, and how lonely it is to live inside a secret — for fans of Sally Rooney, Sheila Heti, and Ottessa Moshfegh.

Ana Kelly can deal with death. As an estate lawyer, an unfortunate part of her day-to-day is phone calls from the next of kin informing her that one of her clients has died. But nothing could have prepared Ana for the call from Rebecca Taylor, explaining in a strangely calm tone that her husband Connor was killed in an accident.

Ana had been having an affair with Connor for three years, keeping their love secret in hotel rooms, weekends away, and swiftly deleted text messages. Though consuming, they hide their love well, and nobody knows of their relationship except Mark, Connor’s best friend.

Alone and undone, Ana seeks friendship with the person who she once thought of as her adversary and opposite, but who is now the only one who shares her pain — Rebecca. As Ana becomes closer to her lover’s widow, she is forced to reconcile painful truths about the affair, and the fickleness of love and desire.

Funny, frank, and strange, Sarah Crossan’s moving novel is wholly original and deeply resonant.

IMG_2250

sword divider

The Project- Courtney Summers

The ProjectLo Denham is used to being on her own. After her parents died, Lo’s sister, Bea, joined The Unity Project, leaving Lo in the care of their great aunt. Thanks to its extensive charitable work and community outreach, The Unity Project has won the hearts and minds of most in the Upstate New York region, but Lo knows there’s more to the group than meets the eye. She’s spent the last six years of her life trying—and failing—to prove it.

When a man shows up at the magazine Lo works for claiming The Unity Project killed his son, Lo sees the perfect opportunity to expose the group and reunite with Bea once and for all. When her investigation puts her in the direct path of its leader, Lev Warren and as Lo delves deeper into The Project, the lives of its members it upends everything she thought she knew about her sister, herself, cults, and the world around her—to the point she can no longer tell what’s real or true. Lo never thought she could afford to believe in Lev Warren . . . but now she doesn’t know if she can afford not to.

IMG_2250

sword dividerA Vow So Bold and Deadly (Cursebreakers #3)- Brigid Kemmerer

A Vow So Bold and Deadly (Cursebreakers, #3)Face your fears, fight the battle.

Emberfall is crumbling fast, torn between those who believe Rhen is the rightful prince and those who are eager to begin a new era under Grey, the true heir. Grey has agreed to wait two months before attacking Emberfall, and in that time, Rhen has turned away from everyone—even Harper, as she desperately tries to help him find a path to peace.

Fight the battle, save the kingdom.

Meanwhile, Lia Mara struggles to rule Syhl Shallow with a gentler hand than her mother. But after enjoying decades of peace once magic was driven out of their lands, some of her subjects are angry Lia Mara has an enchanted prince and magical scraver by her side. As Grey’s deadline draws nearer, Lia Mara questions if she can be the queen her country needs.

As two kingdoms come closer to conflict, loyalties are tested, love is threatened, and an old enemy resurfaces who could destroy them all, in this stunning conclusion to bestselling author Brigid Kemmerer’s Cursebreaker series.

IMG_2250

sword divider
stacy

 

Posted by

There is nothing better than a great cup of coffee and an even better book.

4 thoughts on “It’s Monday, What Are You Reading? 2/8/21

  1. OOh nice! I’m trying to wait for my B&N copy of AVSBAD to arrive so I can read the short story directly afterwards. Hopefully it won’t be too much longer! Dying to read this one since I read the first two as ARCs. This wait has killed a piece of me! Lol!

    Here’s my Monday Wrap-up

    Have a GREAT day!

    Old Follower 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m such a sucker for UK editions of books, so I had to order the Waterstones edition with the shimmery spine. It’s gorgeous.

      I’m sure that it’ll arrive soon. BN is usally good about shipping things on time and getting those books to readers quickly. Fingers crossed that you get it soon!

      Christina Henry is a fantastic author. I hope you like that one 🙂

      Have a great day!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s