*Mini Review* A Deal with the Elf King- Elise Kova

55285911Perfect for fans of A Court of Thorns and Roses and Uprooted, this stand-alone, fantasy romance about a human girl and her marriage to the Elf King is impossible to put down!

The elves come for two things: war and wives. In both cases, they come for death.

Three-thousand years ago, humans were hunted by powerful races with wild magic until the treaty was formed. Now, for centuries, the elves have taken a young woman from Luella’s village to be their Human Queen.

To be chosen is seen as a mark of death by the townsfolk. A mark nineteen-year-old Luella is grateful to have escaped as a girl. Instead, she’s dedicated her life to studying herbology and becoming the town’s only healer.

That is, until the Elf King unexpectedly arrives… for her.

Everything Luella had thought she’d known about her life, and herself, was a lie. Taken to a land filled with wild magic, Luella is forced to be the new queen to a cold yet blisteringly handsome Elf King. Once there, she learns about a dying world that only she can save.

The magical land of Midscape pulls on one corner of her heart, her home and people tug on another… but what will truly break her is a passion she never wanted.

A Deal with the Elf King is a complete, stand-alone novel, inspired by the tales of Hades and Persephone, as well as Beauty and the Beast, with a “happily ever after” ending. It’s perfect for fantasy romance fans looking for just the right amount of steam and their next slow-burn and swoon-worthy couple.

IMG_2250

sword divider

My Review

“Some people can never be hidden; they are meant to be seen.”

This book was one of my highly anticipated reads and I’m sad to say that it was a disappointment. This was one of those books that fell victim to its hype.

I couldn’t connect with any of the main characters and I found my mind drifting off to faraway places. My two favorites were Hook and Willow. Hook is a wolf…. a damn wolf…

This one had so much potential but it fell flat for me. It started off good, I was glued to those first couple of chapters, and then the Elf King happened. What a smug prick he was. Not an enjoyable one at that either. When you get the Elf King together with Luella the real magic started to happen. And by magic I mean it putting me to sleep.

I mean, I don’t know what happened with this one. I love characters who are smug pricks. Hell, I even married one. But what the hell happened here? He was annoying at best. And Luella was just as bad.

A Deal with the Elf King was a huge disappointment. I need to stop getting so overly excited for hyped books. Now we all know why they call Holly Black the Fae Queen!

stacy

Posted by

There is nothing better than a great cup of coffee and an even better book.

4 thoughts on “*Mini Review* A Deal with the Elf King- Elise Kova

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s