*Blog Tour- Excerpt & Giveaway* Christmas in Silverwood- Dorothy Dreyer

banner

*Click on the image above to learn more about this release*

sword divider

SYNOPSIS

 

coverFrom USA TODAY Bestselling Author Dorothy Dreyer, comes a beautiful story about the magic of Christmas, the strength of family and friends, and falling in love when you least expect it—all with the help of a team of Alaskan Malamutes. This gorgeous, feel-good Christmas treat is perfect for fans of Debbie Macomber, Jenny Hale, and Sheila Roberts.

Holly St. Ives is in a rut. Once a celebrated artist making waves in New York City, she finds herself uninspired and unmotivated. Her recent break-up is the last push she needs to spend Christmas alone in the small mountain cabin her father left her in his will—a family getaway she hasn’t visited in years.

After a near accident in Silverwood, she meets Nick Mason, whom she learns is responsible for everything in the small town running like clockwork—including the upcoming Christmas festival and the town’s entry in the state-wide tree decorating contest. Holly doesn’t have time for Nick’s beguiling charm or mouth-watering holiday cupcakes, but after meeting his father, she discovers there’s more to the town’s obsession with the contest than meets the eye.

Touched by the prospect that the whole town is willing to pitch in for a good cause, Holly feels her Christmas spirit making a comeback. As Nick and his team of Alaskan Malamutes work their way into her heart, Holly may just remember the meaning of the season after all.

sword divider

Praise for CHRISTMAS IN SILVERWOOD

“Romance readers who enjoy Hallmark-style stories of unexpected love will relish the down-home feel and evolving tale of Holly and Nick.” —Midwest Book Review

sword divider

Excerpt:

CHRISTMAS IN SILVERWOOD EXCERPT

“You weren’t hurt, were you?” the man asked, inspecting the position of the car.

“Well, your mutt almost got me killed.”

The man narrowed his eyes. “Mutt? Cupid is a pure-bred Alaskan Malamute.”

Cupid rolled over in the snow with its tongue sticking out. When it got back up on its paws, it shook to get the snow off its fur.

Holly flinched as bits of snow sprayed up onto her coat. “Oh, excuse me! Maybe you should teach your pure-bred not to chase squirrels across the road. What’s he got against squirrels anyway? You’d think a dog named Cupid would have a heart for the poor creatures. What kind of saint is that?”

Cupid proceeded to sit in the snow again, raising its paw. Did the dog want to shake hands or something? She could have sworn it winked at her.

The man let out a small laugh.

“What’s so funny?” Holly asked.

“First of all, I think Cupid’s trying to offer his apologies. Secondly, I think you’re thinking of the mythological god of love and attraction. There is no Saint Cupid. And third, he was actually named after the reindeer. You know, from the Rudolph song?”

Holly scoffed and shrugged.

The man rubbed at his bearded jaw. She’d been too worked up to notice, but now he’d drawn attention to his face. Underneath his wool bomber hat, the man actually had attractive features. Strong cheekbones, square jaw, and blue eyes that made her think of summer—wait, what was she doing?

“Whatever,” was all she could think of to say as she fought off a blush. “Just get your dog out of the road.”

“Look, sorry for the trouble. Do you need any help with your car? I’ve got some tow straps in the truck if you need help getting out of that snowbank.”

Holly pursed her lips. “No, thanks. I can manage.” She turned to head back to her car but then stopped suddenly. Letting out a frustrated breath, she swung back around to face him. “Can you tell me if this road leads to Silverwood?”

“Oh, you’re headed to Silverwood?”

Holly narrowed her eyes at him. “Yeah.”

The man smiled. “Yep, it sure does. Just keep following the road about twenty miles down and you’ll see the sign.”

Holly nodded her head once. “Thank you.”

“The name’s Nick, by the way.” He said when she was almost at her car door.

She lifted her hand but didn’t look back at him. She wasn’t sure why she was being so impolite to this handsome stranger. At the sound of a bark, she flinched, but refused to turn around. Was she crazy to think the dog was barking goodbye to her, wishing her a pleasant journey? Yeah, that was crazy.

Once she was in her car, she closed the door and turned the ignition key. After shifting into reverse, she pushed on the gas, but the car wouldn’t budge. The engine simply revved without the car going anywhere.

“No, no, no.” She didn’t really want to have to ask Nick for help. She’d already felt like she made a fool of herself by being so rude to him. Glancing down, she realized she’d forgotten to disengage the handbrake.

Letting out a sigh of relief, she sheepishly glanced in her rearview mirror at Nick to see if he noticed. Nick stood where he had been, smirking with his hands in his coat pockets.

Cheeks burning, she expelled a huff of exasperation and drove off.

Once she was safely down the road, she let her shoulders sag and her head fall back against the headrest. Checking her rearview mirror, she caught Nick patting Cupid on the head before heading back to his truck. She shook her head, finding the encounter incredulous. Still, the man had been polite and didn’t fight back with her, even though she knew she was the one being inexplicably rude. No, Nick had been a gentleman.

Nick, she thought. That’s a nice name.

Copyright © 2021 by Dorothy Dreyer

sword divider

Giveaway

–  1 Winner will receive a $25 Amazon Gift Card.
Giveaway is open to International. | Must be 13+ to Enter
ENDS: JANUARY 10, 2022
Click on the image below to enter. Good luck!
maxresdefault
sword divider

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

 

AuthorDorothy Dreyer is an award-winning, USA Today bestselling author. Born in Angeles City, Philippines to a Filipino mother and American Father, Dorothy grew up a military brat, living in Guam, Massachusetts, South Dakota, New Jersey, and New York. Dorothy is bilingual, speaks fluent English and German, and teaches English to children at a multilingual school in Frankfurt, Germany where she resides with her family and two Siberian huskies.

Past Awards: Solo medalist of the 2018 New Apple Award for Outstanding Young Adult Fantasy

PHOTO CONTENT FROM DOROTHY DREYER

WEBSITE: http://www.dorothydreyer.com/

sword divider
Thank you, Jean, and Dorothy, for allowing us to be a part of this wonderful tour.
For more information about this release and other upcoming releases, please click on the button below.
Happy reading!

sword divider

Tour Schedule

WEEK ONE
DECEMBER 20th MONDAY JeanBookNerd INTERVIEW
DECEMBER 21st TUESDAY A Court of Coffee and Books EXCERPT
DECEMBER 22nd WEDNESDAY Casia’s Corner EXCERPT
DECEMBER 23rd THURSDAY #BRVL Book Review Virginia Lee Blog EXCERPT
DECEMBER 24th FRIDAY Insane About Books GUEST POST
WEEK TWO
DECEMBER 27th MONDAY BookHounds REVIEW & GUEST POST
DECEMBER 28th TUESDAY YA It’s Lit REVIEW
DECEMBER 29th WEDNESDAY Crossroad Reviews REVIEW
DECEMBER 30th THURSDAY Movies, Shows, & Books REVIEW
DECEMBER 31st FRIDAY TTC Books and More REVIEW
stacy

Posted by

There is nothing better than a great cup of coffee and an even better book.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s