*Blog Tour + Giveaway* Tiger Queen by Annie Sullivan

TigerQueen-Cover

Title: Tiger Queen

Author: Annie Sullivan

Publisher: BLINK

Release date: September 10, 2019

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy

Synopsis:

From Annie Sullivan, author of A Touch of Gold, comes Tiger Queen, a sweeping YA fantasy adventure that tells the story of a fierce desert princess battling to save her kingdom. Fans of Rebel of the Sands and Meagan Spooner will devour this retelling of Frank Stockton’s famous short story, “The Lady, or the Tiger?”

In the mythical desert kingdom of Achra, an ancient law forces sixteen-year-old Princess Kateri to fight in the arena to prove her right to rule. For Kateri, winning also means fulfilling a promise to her late mother that she would protect her people, who are struggling through windstorms and drought. The situation is worsened by the gang of Desert Boys that frequently raids the city wells, forcing the king to ration what little water is left. The punishment for stealing water is a choice between two doors: behind one lies freedom, and behind the other is a tiger.

But when Kateri’s final opponent is announced, she knows she cannot win. In desperation, she turns to the desert and the one person she never thought she’d side with. What Kateri discovers twists her world—and her heart—upside down. Her future is now behind two doors—only she’s not sure which holds the key to keeping her kingdom and which releases the tiger.

IMG_2250

Purchase Links

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository 

sword 1

Tour Schedule

Check out the other amazing bloggers on the Tiger Queen blog tour!

TigerQueen-TourBanner

sword 1

About the Author

AnnieSullivan-Photo

Annie Sullivan is a Young Adult author from Indianapolis, Indiana. Her work has been featured in Curly Red Stories and Punchnels. She loves fairytales, everything Jane Austen, and traveling and exploring new cultures. When she’s not off on her own adventures, she’s teaching classes at the Indiana Writers Center and working as the Copy Specialist at John Wiley and Sons, Inc. publishing company, having also worked there in Editorial and Publicity roles. You can follow her adventures on Twitter and Instagram (@annsulliva).

Website | Twitter

sword 1

My Review

Tiger Queen is the first book I’ve read from Annie Sullivan and let me tell you, it did not disappoint. It’s action-packed with amazing character development and world building. Tiger Queen is a gritty novel that truly depicts what it would be like to live in the desert with multiple hardships. But, overall, it’s a book about overcoming boundaries and finding yourself in a world that constantly pushes you down.

“We can’t focus on what we’ve lost or the weight of it will bury us faster than the sand. We have to focus on what’s still to gain. We have to focus on finding joy when we can.”

Princess Kateri is a strong and brave protagonist, with a story that many can connect with. In order for her to win the crown, she has to battle a set of opponents in the arena and if she loses, she has to marry that opponent that night. Because if she can’t defeat all her suitors, then her father and her people see her as a weakness and not the strongest leader her kingdom could have. And because of this, Kateri feels like she has to constantly prove herself and that she can never make a mistake. Which is why she needs to defeat her last opponent. But when his identity is revealed, she knows she won’t be able to beat him without help. More specifically, she needs the help of the only person who knows her opponent well: Cion, the leader of the desert boys.

As long as Kateri has been alive, the desert boys have caused chaos within her kingdom by stealing their water. Her menacing father keeps restricting the water wells, which only pushes the desert boys to steal more water. But what Kateri learns from them makes her question everything her father has ever told her. Kateri not only learns more about the desert boys and their culture, but Cion also shows Kateri that not everything is about strength and being brave; there are times you are allowed to have fun and loosen up and be vulnerable, even for someone fighting for the crown and their life.

“‘Scars tell their own stories,’ Cion said, ‘and out here, we listen to them.'”

Princess Kateri thought she knew who she was and what her destiny was supposed to be within her castle walls. But the longer she spends with the desert boys, the more she realizes that her life in the castle was like a caged tiger: trapped, with no way of escaping. Just like her mother, who she promised she would change the world for all the kingdoms’ people, including the desert boys. Kateri also sees firsthand what’s it like to truly live in the desert, and she faces hardships she never had to face in her castle. But out in the desert, she finds more of herself and more of a connection with her mother, than she thought she would. She starts to learn what it means to really live a life to its fullest.

Sullivan brings the desert to life in this book with her mesmerizing and beautiful world building. She doesn’t just depict what living in the desert is like, but what the people of Kateri’s kingdom are like and what must be done for everyone to survive. Living in the desert isn’t an easy life, and Sullivan does a phenomenal job portraying the daily struggles. It’s a life that seems to only promise struggles and hardships for many. But Sullivan lets the reader know that Princess Kateri can change that, if only she is brave enough to do so.

“I hadn’t thought love could truly exist in this desert. I thought it was the biggest mirage of all. Something meant to trick those who sought it out, to distract them from their miserable lives, the ones without futures. But it wasn’t. It was about hope. It was about having a future worth living.”

Tiger Queen is a fun and fast-paced novel with a strong protagonist and amazing side characters. I was thoroughly impressed with Sullivan’s book, and I plan to read the rest of her books. Tiger Queen comes out Tuesday, September 10, so grab you copy this upcoming week!

sword 1

Giveaway

Prize: Tiger Queen poster and signed bookplate (USA only)

Starts: 9/4/19

Ends:  9/13/19

maxresdefault

sword 1

Thank you, Fantastic Flying Book Club, for having us on this wonderful blog tour!

8974a-header2Bsml

*Blog Tour + Giveaway* Pretty in Punxsutawney by Laurie Boyle Crompton

Pretty in Punxsatawney_RD3Title: Pretty In Punxsutawney

Author: Laurie Boyle Crompton

Publisher: Blink

Release date: January 22, 2019

Genre: Young Adult — Contemporary, Romance

Synopsis:

A mashup of Groundhog Day and Pretty in Pink, the book stars a senior who is forced to relive the first day at her new school in an endless loop. Andie is convinced she needs true love’s kiss to break the curse, but instead discovers how a high school filled with cliques and misfits can find common ground despite everyone’s differences.

BOOK LINKS

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/36168849-pretty-in-punxsutawney

Amazon: https://amzn.to/2rdEb48

Barnes & Noble: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/pretty-in-punxsutawney-laurie-boyle-crompton/1128209537?#/

Book Depository: https://www.bookdepository.com/Pretty-in-Punxsutawney-Laurie-Boyle-Crompton/9780310762164

IndieBound: https://www.indiebound.org/search/book?keys=Pretty+in+Punxsutawney


ABOUT THE AUTHOR

laurieboylecrompton (1)Laurie Boyle Crompton is the YA author of the upcoming PRETTY IN PUNXSUTAWNEY (Blink/HarperCollins 2019) as well as ADRENALINE CRUSH (Macmillan/2014, Square Fish/2016), BLAZE (or Love in the Time of Supervillains), THE REAL PROM QUEENS OF WESTFIELD HIGH and LOVE AND VANDALISM (Sourcebooks/2013, 2014, 2017). Growing up in ‘Pennsyltucky’ in the 1980s, Laurie couldn’t wait to escape rural life. After saving up her tips from waitressing at a local greasy spoon at 18 she packed up her acid wash jeans and moved to NY. Where everyone else had stopped wearing acid wash.

She graduated first in her class from St. John’s University with a BA in English and Journalism. Since then she’s written for national magazines like ALLURE, survived a teaching stint at an all-boy high school, and appeared on Good Day New York several times as a Toy Expert. And yes, ‘toy expert’ is an actual profession. Really.

She has lived in places like Orlando, Florida where she and her husband spent all of their spare time and money visiting theme parks before moving to the Cotswolds in England for six months, which was every bit as cool as that sounds. The Cromptons are now back in New York where their two children resent never going to Disney.

Laurie occasionally enjoys hanging out in fields of blooming flowers and also refering to herself in the third person.

Website: https://www.lboylecrompton.com/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/lbcrompton

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/lbcrompton/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/laurie.b.crompton


MY REVIEW

This book was absolutely adorable! When I read that Groundhog Day would be the main basis for this book, I knew I needed to read this. Pretty in Punxsutawney is a cute and fast-read contemporary that hooked me from the very beginning. It’s a wonderful mash-up of Groundhog Day and Pretty In Pink, which makes for a fun and laugh-at-loud read. I loved how much Andie evolved over those repeating days. Each day brought a new scenario for Andie, which gave the reader a little snippet into another part of Andie’s personality.

When Andie wakes up the next morning after her first day of school, only to find out that she’s reliving the same day over and over again, she thinks it’s a blessing, yet also a curse. She thinks it’s the world’s way of telling her to get the day right and to find true love. And, of course, to get her first kiss. But little does she know that not everything is going to go as planned and not everyone is who they seem. And maybe, just maybe, you don’t need a kiss to break a time loop.

I loved Andie as a character. She’s strong and funny and someone I could really connect with throughout the book. I enjoyed seeing her dynamics with the many characters along the way, especially with Tom. She interacts with kids from different cliques in her high school, where she sees that many people put on an image at school and hide who they really are. And through all these characters, all these interactions, she starts to understand the person she wants to be. Even though her days are filled with angst and high school drama (like having to deal with a girl trying to steal the guy she thinks she likes), she stills fights to figure out who she is and what she’s supposed to do to break the curse.

One of my favorite things about Pretty in Punxsutawney was all the references to classic 80s movies, like Pretty in Pink. I’m a huge movie buff, so I loved all the references and how they all incorporated into the story. Andie references some of her mom’s favorite 80s movies to help her get through each repeat day, and each movie reference helps create a different outcome, which, in turn, teaches Andie something about herself she didn’t know.

Overall, I thoroughly enjoyed Pretty in Punxsutawney. It was different from any contemporary books I have read and referring to 80s nostalgic movies definitely put the cherry on top. If you enjoy contemporaries with big-screen features similar to Groundhog Day and other well-known movies, I highly recommend!

Pretty in Punxsutawney comes out January 15, 2019!


GIVEAWAY

Prize: 5 finished copies of Pretty In Punxsutawney by Laurie Boyle Crompton (USA only)

Starts: 1/7/19

Ends:  1/16/19

maxresdefault

TOUR SCHEDULE

http://fantasticflyingbookclub.blogspot.com/2018/12/tour-schedule-pretty-in-punxsutawney-by.html


Thank you so much, Fantastic Flying Book Club, for having us on this amazing book blog tour!