*Release Day Review* When You Look Like Us- Pamela N. Harris

When you look like us—brown skin, brown eyes, black braids or fades—people think you’re trouble. No one looks twice at a missing black girl from the projects because she must’ve brought whatever happened to her upon herself. I, Jay Murphy, can admit that, for a minute, I thought my sister, Nicole, got too caught up […]

Read More

*Goodreads Monday 12/07/20* Wings of Ebony- J. Elle

In this riveting, keenly emotional debut fantasy, a Black teen from Houston has her world upended when she learns about her godly ancestry–and with evil sinking its claws into humans and gods alike, she’ll have to unearth the magic of her true identity to save both her worlds. Perfect for fans of Angie Thomas, Tomi […]

Read More

*Saturday Spotlight* Happily Ever Afters by Elise Bryant

Title: Happily Ever Afters Author: Elise Bryant Publisher: Balzer + Bray Release Date: January 5, 2021 Page Count: 336 pages Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance Summary: Sixteen-year-old Tessa Johnson has never felt like the protagonist in her own life. She’s rarely seen herself reflected in the pages of the romance novels she loves. The only place […]

Read More

*Saturday Spotlight* A Curse of Roses by Diana Pinguicha

Title: A Curse of Roses Author: Diana Pinguicha Publisher: Entangled Teen Release Date: December 1, 2020 Page Count: 352 pages Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy, Retellings, LGBT Summary: With just one touch, bread turns into roses. With just one bite, cheese turns into lilies. There’s a famine plaguing the land, and Princess Yzabel is wasting food simply […]

Read More

*Saturday Spotlight* These Violent Delights by Chloe Gong

Title: These Violent Delights Author: Chloe Gong Publisher: Margaret K. McElderry Books Release Date: November 17, 2020 Page Count: 464 pages Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy, Retellings, Historical, Romance Summary: Perfect for fans of The Last Magician and Descendant of the Crane, this heart-stopping debut is an imaginative Romeo and Juliet retelling set in 1920s Shanghai, with rival gangs and a monster […]

Read More

*Saturday Spotlight* Rebel Rose by Emma Theriault

Saturday Spotlight is back!! We took a bit of a long break, but super excited to bring back our Saturday feature, which puts the spotlight on an upcoming YA debut release! Title: Rebel Rose (The Queen’s Council #1) Author: Emma Theriault Publisher: Disney-Hyperion Release Date: November 10, 2020 Page Count: 352 pages Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy, […]

Read More

Interview with Dana Swift, Author of Cast in Firelight

Title: Cast in Firelight Author: Dana Swift Release Date: January 19, 2021 Publisher: Delacorte Press Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy Summary: The first book in an epic, heart-pounding fantasy duology about two royal heirs betrothed to be married, but whose loyalties are torn, and a ruthless enemy who threatens their world, perfect for fans of Sabaa Tahir, […]

Read More

*Blog Tour + Interview + Giveaway* A Golden Fury by Samantha Cohoe

Book Title: A Golden Fury Author: Samantha Cohoe Publisher: Wednesday Books Release Date: October 13, 2020 Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy Synopsis: In her debut novel A Golden Fury, Samantha Cohoe weaves a story of magic and danger, where the streets of Oxford and London come to life, and the curse of the Philosopher’s Stone will […]

Read More

*Blog Tour + Giveaway* A Song of Wraiths and Ruin by Roseanne A. Brown

Book Title: A Song of Wraiths and Ruin (A Song of Wraiths and Ruin #1) Author: Roseanne A. Brown Publisher: Balzer + Bray Release Date: June 2nd 2020 Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy Synopsis: The first in an fantasy duology inspired by West African folklore in which a grieving crown princess and a desperate refugee find […]

Read More

Interview with KayLynn Flanders, Author of Shielded

Title: Shielded Author: KayLynn Flanders Release Date: July 21, 2020 Publisher: Delacorte Press Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy Summary: For fans of Sorcery of Thorns and Furyborn comes a thrilling new fantasy about a kingdom ravaged by war, and the princess who might be the key to saving not only those closest to her, but the kingdom itself, if she reveals […]

Read More