It’s Monday (On a Tuesday), What Are You Reading? 10/22/19

Technically, You Started It- Lana Wood Johnson

41016382. sx318 When a guy named Martin Nathaniel Munroe II texts you, it should be obvious who you’re talking to. Except there’s two of them (it’s a long story), and Haley thinks she’s talking to the one she doesn’t hate.

A question about a class project rapidly evolves into an all-consuming conversation. Haley finds that Martin is actually willing to listen to her weird facts and unusual obsessions, and Martin feels like Haley is the first person to really see who he is. Haley and Martin might be too awkward to hang out in real life, but over text, they’re becoming addicted to each other.

There’s just one problem: Haley doesn’t know who Martin is. And Martin doesn’t know that Haley doesn’t know. But they better figure it out fast before their meet-cute becomes an epic meet-disaster . . .

IMG_2250

sword 1

Covet (Enchanted)- Micalea Smeltzer

35412494. sy475

On the run from the Iniquitous, Mara feels lost and helpless. Without Theo by her side, she’s left bare and vulnerable, but she’s a fighter and, with blood boiling in her veins, she vows to avenge him.

The Iniquitous have already taken so much from her, and she refuses to sit back and let them take anything else. She trains harder, preparing herself physically and mentally to take them on. As her magic grows stronger, so does the voice speaking to her from beyond the grave.

She wants to believe it’s real, to give in to what feels right, but if she does, her mind might be lost forever.

 

IMG_2250

sword 1

 

The How & The Why- Cynthia Hand

43884147. sy475 A poignant exploration of family and the ties that bind, perfect for fans of Far From the Tree, from New York Times bestselling author Cynthia Hand.

Today Melly had us writing letters to our babies…

Cassandra McMurtrey has the best parents a girl could ask for. They’ve given Cass a life she wouldn’t trade for the world. She has everything she needs—except maybe the one thing she wants. Like, to know who she is. Where she came from. Questions her adoptive parents can’t answer, no matter how much they love her.

But eighteen years ago, someone wrote Cass a series of letters. And they may just hold the answers Cass has been searching for.

Alternating between Cass’s search for answers and letters from the pregnant teen who gave her up for adoption, this voice-driven narrative is the perfect read for fans of Nina LaCour and Jandy Nelson.

IMG_2250

 

sword 1

The Never Tilting World- Rin Chupeco

36321739Frozen meets Mad Max in this epic teen fantasy duology bursting with star-crossed romance, immortal heroines, and elemental magic, perfect for fans of Furyborn.

Generations of twin goddesses have long ruled Aeon. But seventeen years ago, one sister’s betrayal defied an ancient prophecy and split their world in two. The planet ceased to spin, and a Great Abyss now divides two realms: one cloaked in perpetual night, the other scorched by an unrelenting sun.

While one sister rules Aranth—a frozen city surrounded by a storm-wracked sea —her twin inhabits the sand-locked Golden City. Each goddess has raised a daughter, and each keeps her own secrets about her sister’s betrayal.

But when shadowy forces begin to call their daughters, Odessa and Haidee, back to the site of the Breaking, the two young goddesses —along with a powerful healer from Aranth, and a mouthy desert scavenger —set out on separate journeys across treacherous wastelands, desperate to heal their broken world. No matter the sacrifice it demands.

IMG_2250

*Review* Enchant- Micalea Smeltzer

35412486. sy475 Mara Pryce never imagined that her life was anything but normal and then a strange gray-eyed young man appears at her graduation. When he vanishes without a trace, she’s convinced he’s a figment of her imagination. Then he appears again and shatters her whole world.

Mara is an enchanter, part of an ancient line of Wiccan power, and a war is raging—one of good and evil—between the Enchanted and the Iniquitous.

The Iniquitous want her dead and it’s Theodore’s job as her protector to keep her safe.

When Mara and Theodore arrive at a safe house, where Mara will remain hidden while learning about her powers, they find that the real threat might be a little closer to home than they want to believe.

IMG_2250

sword 1

My Review:

“You know how you girls have loads of book boyfriends? Well, I have my book girlfriends.
I snorted.
Laugh all you want but a real man likes to read.”

I’ve had this arc sitting on my bookshelf for years and I’ve thought about reading it a few times but decided against it. There is seriously something wrong with me because this was epic as hell. I was captivated from page one and now I’m desperate for book two. This was my very first experience with paranormal romance from Micalea and it certainly won’t be my last.

Mara’s adult life is just beginning. She’s graduating and turning eighteen soon. Life hasn’t always been perfect but life never is. She’s lost her Mom at a very young age and it’s just been her and her Dad. But things are about to change.

The night of graduation, Mara attends a party with her very best friend. Things go from fun to devastating as her friend appears covered in blood and is freaking out. As they rush home, Mara finds a stranger in her house demanding that they leave now and that there’s no time to explain.

She notices this strange man from dreams and from catching glimpses of him around. She relents and off they go. He tells her things that she didn’t know existed but she knows for sure that she’s in danger and he’s there to protect her at all costs.

Mara learns that she’s an enchanter and Theodore is her protector. The Iniquitious is after her and they want blood. Theo is taking her to a safe house to protect her and so she can learn to use her abilities to the full extent. But sometimes secrets are closer to home than you think.

Enchant was magical, captivating, and exhilarating. It was a thrill ride that wouldn’t let you go. I honestly couldn’t stop reading this, I was/am addicted to Mara’s story. Mara and Theo are two characters that you won’t ever forget and you’ll be desperate to read more about them. And don’t even get me started on how swoony Theo is.

I’m just speechless at how breathtaking this is. Don’t hesitate to pick this up as I did. Make sure you have the second book available after reading this because you’ll be losing your mind from that ending.

stacy

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 7/15/19

This week I’m going to read two books that I’ve had in my collection for years and one that I was approved for on Netgalley.

What are you reading this week?

Enchant- Micalea Smeltzer

35412486. sy475 Mara Pryce never imagined that her life was anything but normal and then a strange gray-eyed young man appears at her graduation. When he vanishes without a trace, she’s convinced he’s a figment of her imagination. Then he appears again and shatters her whole world.

Mara is an enchanter, part of an ancient line of Wiccan power, and a war is raging—one of good and evil—between the Enchanted and the Iniquitous.

The Iniquitous want her dead and it’s Theodore’s job as her protector to keep her safe.

When Mara and Theodore arrive at a safe house, where Mara will remain hidden while learning about her powers, they find that the real threat might be a little closer to home than they want to believe.

IMG_2250

sword 1

The Bassoon King: My Life in Art, Faith, and Idiocy- Rainn Wilson

21975925Rainn Wilson’s memoir about growing up geeky and finally finding his place in comedy, faith, and life. 
 
For nine seasons Rainn Wilson played Dwight Schrute, everyone’s favorite work nemesis and beet farmer. Viewers of The Office fell in love with the character and grew to love the actor who played him even more. Rainn founded a website and media company, SoulPancake, that eventually became a bestselling book of the same name. He also started a hilarious Twitter feed (sample tweet: “I’m not on Facebook” is the new “I don’t even own a TV”) that now has more than four million followers.

Now, he’s ready to tell his own story and explain how he came up with his incredibly unique sense of humor and perspective on life. He explains how he grew up “bone-numbingly nerdy before there was even a modicum of cool attached to the word.” The Bassoon King chronicles his journey from nerd to drama geek (“the highest rung on the vast, pimply ladder of high school losers”), his years of mild debauchery and struggles as a young actor in New York, his many adventures and insights about The Office, and finally, Wilson’s achievement of success and satisfaction, both in his career and spiritually, reconnecting with the artistic and creative values of the Bahá’í faith he grew up in.

IMG_2250

sword 1

The Chain- Adrian McKinty

42779092You just dropped off your child at the bus stop. A panicked stranger calls your phone. Your child has been kidnapped, and the stranger explains that their child has also been kidnapped, by a completely different stranger. The only way to get your child back is to kidnap another child within 24 hours. Your child will be released only when the next victim’s parents kidnap yet another child, and most importantly, the stranger explains, if you don’t kidnap a child, or if the next parents don’t kidnap a child, your child will be murdered. You are now part of The Chain.

 

 

 

IMG_2250

Happy Reading!

stacy

Covet- Micalea Smeltzer Book #2 Cover Reveal

BOOK DETAILS:
Covet
by Micalea Smeltzer
(Enchanted #2)
Publication date: TBA
Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult
Synopsis:
On the run from the Iniquitous, Mara feels lost and helpless. Without Theo by her side, she’s left bare and vulnerable, but she’s a fighter and, with blood boiling in her veins, she vows to avenge him.
The Iniquitous have already taken so much from her, and she refuses to sit back and let them take anything else. She trains harder, preparing herself physically and mentally to take them on. As her magic grows stronger, so does the voice speaking to her from beyond the grave.
She wants to believe it’s real, to give in to what feels right, but if she does, her mind might be lost forever.
Cover:
Covet-high
goodreads11-1024x409
Purchase book 1:
AUTHOR BIO:
Hi. I’m Micalea. Ma-call-e-uh. Weird name, I know. My mom must’ve known I was going to be odd even in the womb. I’ve written a lot of books. Like a lot. Don’t ask me how many, I don’t remember at this point. I have an unhealthy addiction to Diet Coke but I can’t seem to break the habit. I listen to way too much music and hedgehogs have taken over my life. Crazy is the word that best sums up my life, but it’s the good kind of crazy and I wouldn’t change it for anything.
Author links: