It’s Monday, What Are You Reading? 5/11/20

Hello and happy Monday.

These days seem to be zooming past so quickly.

This week I’m going to read a book that I’ve won on Twitter, an arc that I’ve picked up at ALA Midwinter, and a book that I’ve owned for quite some time.

What are you reading?

sword divider

The Life and (Medieval) Times of Kit Sweetly- Jamie Pacton

49952514. sx318 sy475 Working as a wench ― i.e. waitress ― at a cheesy medieval-themed restaurant in the Chicago suburbs, Kit Sweetly dreams of being a knight like her brother. She has the moves, is capable on a horse, and desperately needs the raise that comes with knighthood, so she can help her mom pay the mortgage and hold a spot at her dream college.

Company policy allows only guys to be knights. So when Kit takes her brother’s place and reveals her identity at the end of the show, she rockets into internet fame and a whole lot of trouble with the management. But the Girl Knight won’t go down without a fight. As other wenches join her quest, a protest forms. In a joust before Castle executives, they’ll prove that gender restrictions should stay medieval―if they don’t get fired first.

Moxie meets A Knight’s Tale as Kit Sweetly slays sexism, bad bosses, and bad luck to become a knight at a medieval-themed restaurant.

IMG_2250

sword divider

Cinderella is Dead- Kalynn Bayron

51079282. sx318 sy475 “Wholly original and captivating.” – Brigid Kemmerer, New York Times bestselling author of A Curse So Dark and Lonely

Girls team up to overthrow the kingdom in this unique and powerful retelling of Cinderella from a stunning new voice that’s perfect for fans of A Curse So Dark and Lonely.

It’s 200 years after Cinderella found her prince, but the fairy tale is over. Teen girls are now required to appear at the Annual Ball, where the men of the kingdom select wives based on a girl’s display of finery. If a suitable match is not found, the girls not chosen are never heard from again.

Sixteen-year-old Sophia would much rather marry Erin, her childhood best friend, than parade in front of suitors. At the ball, Sophia makes the desperate decision to flee, and finds herself hiding in Cinderella’s mausoleum. There, she meets Constance, the last known descendant of Cinderella and her step sisters. Together they vow to bring down the king once and for all–and in the process, they learn that there’s more to Cinderella’s story than they ever knew . . .

This fresh take on a classic story will make readers question the tales they’ve been told, and root for girls to break down the constructs of the world around them.

IMG_2250

sword divider

Sorority- Genevieve Sly Crane

36374015. sy475 Sisterhood is forever…whether you like it or not.

Prep meets Girls in White Dresses in Genevieve Sly Crane’s deliciously addictive, voyeuristic exploration of female friendship and coming of age that will appeal to anyone who has ever been curious about what happens in a sorority house.

Twinsets and pearls, secrets and kinship, rituals that hold sisters together in a sacred bond of everlasting trust. Certain chaste images spring to mind when one thinks of sororities. But make no mistake: these women are not braiding each other’s hair and having pillow fights—not by a long shot.

What Genevieve Sly Crane has conjured in these pages is a blunt, in your face look behind the closed doors of a house full of contemporary women—and there are no holds barred. These women have issues: self-inflicted, family inflicted, sister-to-sister inflicted—and it is all on the page. At the center of this swirl is Margot: the sister who died in the house, and each chapter is told from the points of view of the women who orbit her death and have their own reactions to it.

With a keen sense of character and elegant, observant prose, Crane details the undercurrents of tension in a world where perfection comes at a cost and the best things in life are painful—if not impossible—to acquire: Beauty. A mother’s love. And friendship… or at least the appearance of it. Woven throughout are glimmers of the classical myths that undercut the lives of women in Greek life. After all, the Greek goddesses did cause their fair share of destruction.

IMG_2250

stacy

*First Line Friday 5/1/20* The Princess Will Save You- Sarah Henning

52378724. sx318 sy475 A PRINCESS
A STABLE BOY
A QUEST

When her father dies, Princess Amarande is given an ultimatum: Marry the leader of one of the four neighboring kingdoms, or lose her crown—and possibly her life. And to force her hand, her beloved, the stable boy Luca, is kidnapped.

But Amarande was raised to be a warrior, not a sacrifice.

And nothing will stop her from saving her true love and rescuing her kingdom.

The acclaimed author of Sea Witch turns the classic damsel-in-distress tale on its head with this story of adventure, identity, and love.

IMG_2250

“The whisper and clang of steel rang out over the foothills of Ardenia, a princess and a pauper meeting swords.

Left. Right. Cross. High cut. Mid-cross. Hanging parry. Stab.”

 

stacy

*Goodreads Monday 4/20/20* The Princess Will Save You- Sarah Henning

Goodreads Monday is hosted by Lauren’s Page Turners.  All you have to do is show off a book from your TBR that you’re looking forward to reading.

sword divider

I know this one doesn’t come out until July but it sounds so amazing and I can’t wait to read it.

Did this one make it onto your TBR? Or have you read this yet?

sword divider

52378724. sx318 sy475

A PRINCESS
A STABLE BOY
A QUEST

When her father dies, Princess Amarande is given an ultimatum: Marry the leader of one of the four neighboring kingdoms, or lose her crown—and possibly her life. And to force her hand, her beloved, the stable boy Luca, is kidnapped.

But Amarande was raised to be a warrior, not a sacrifice.

And nothing will stop her from saving her true love and rescuing her kingdom.

The acclaimed author of Sea Witch turns the classic damsel-in-distress tale on its head with this story of adventure, identity, and love.

IMG_2250

*First Line Friday 4/17/20* Girls Save the World in This One- Ash Parsons

51037654. sx318 sy475

June’s whole life has been leading up to this: ZombieCon, the fan convention celebrating all things zombies. She and her two best friends plan on hitting all the panels, photo ops, and meeting the heartthrob lead of their favorite zombie apocalypse show Human Wasteland.

And when they arrive everything seems perfect, though June has to shrug off some weirdness from other fans—people shambling a little too much, and someone actually biting a cast member. Then all hell breaks loose and June and her friends discover the truth: real zombies are taking over the con. Now June must do whatever it takes to survive a horde of actual brain-eating zombies—and save the world.

IMG_2250

“We’re never going to make it. This is it. My life is over. In the days and months that follow this tragedy, when they speak my name, they’ll say in hushed tones, she lived as she died: full of complaint and bile, mere inches from her goal.”

 

Top Ten Tuesday 12/24/19

Top Ten Tuesday was created by The Broke and the Bookish in June of 2010 and was moved to That Artsy Reader Girl in January of 2018. It was born of a love of lists, a love of books, and a desire to bring bookish friends together.

This weeks topic is: Books I Hope to Find Under My Tree

(Click on the image of the book to read the synopsis on Goodreads)

sword divider

Nevernight- Jay Kristoff

30969076

sword divider

Ninth House- Leigh Bardugo- Target Edition

Ninth House - Target Exclusive Edition by Leigh Bardugo (Hardcover) - image 1 of 1

sword divider

The Starless Sea- Erin Morgenstern- U.K. Edition

42730332. sx318

sword divider

Normal People- Sally Rooney

41057294. sy475

sword divider

 

Regretting You- Colleen Hoover

46117419. sy475

sword divider

These Witches Don’t Burn- Isabel Sterling

36484081. sy475

sword divider

Scream With Me: The Enduring Legacy of The Misfits- Tom Bejgrowicz

43908956

sword divider

The Ocean at the End of the Lane- Neil Gaiman

27161228

sword divider

The Deathless Girls- Kiran Millwood Hargrave

 

43453718. sy475

sword divider

Betty Bites Back: Stories to Scare the Patriarchy- Mindy McGinnis 

41591785. sy475

*Review* Cadaver & Queen- Alisa Kwitney

35140600    When Lizzie Lavenza enrolled at Ingold as its first female medical student, she knew she wouldn’t have an easy time. From class demands to being an outsider among her male cohorts, she’ll have to go above and beyond to prove herself. So when she stumbles across what appears to be a faulty Bio-mechanical–one of the mechanized cadavers created to service the school–she jumps at the chance to fix it and get ahead in the program.

Only this Bio-mechanical isn’t like the others. Where they are usually empty-minded and perfectly obedient, this one seems to have thoughts, feelings… and self-awareness.

Soon Lizzie realizes that it is Victor Frankenstein–a former student who died under mysterious circumstances. Victor, it seems, still has a spark of human intelligence inside him, along with memories of things he discovered before his untimely death.. .and a suspicion that he was murdered to keep that information from getting out. Suddenly Lizzie finds herself intertwined in dark secrets and sabotage that put her life, and the lives of Victor and their friends, in danger. But Lizzie’s determined to succeed–even if that means fighting an enemy who threatens the entire British Empire.

My Review:

“Arrogance is what thick people call the truth when they don’t like it.”

This is Tales from the Crypt meets Stalking Jack the Ripper with deeper and darker secrets. I love Tales from the Crypt and it’s still one of my favorite shows to watch. Stalking Jack the Ripper was one of those books I hated and it drove me crazy. So this got stuck right in the middle for me.

The cover and spine for this book are stunning. It definitely is the draw to capturing your attention. The synopsis hits you because of the feminist retelling. Even though it doesn’t read like a retelling of Frankenstein much but of another book and tv show.

Elizabeth, Victor, and Henry do make their appearances and the banter between them was great but the story in between could get kind of stuffy. I felt bored with some of this and the twists really didn’t shock me. I expected more but got mediocre.

Cadaver & Queen was an okay read but I don’t see myself reading it again. It definitely doesn’t need a second book and I’m probably going to skip that one.

Beware of the beautiful cover!!

IMG_2250

stacy

*Arc Review* Mammoth- Jill Baguchinsky

blogmammothbookplates

 

“You can’t hide from assholes. You just have to learn to deal.”

Women in Stem is a hard thing to come by and this puts women right where they belong. That is obviously at the top!

One thing I wasn’t expecting to happen was me wanting to learn more about Paleontology. It was fascinating about all the hard work they put into something that might not give them anything in return.

The story was one that instantly had me hooked. It flowed beautifully and the characters were instantly likable even if some are more douchey than others. But Natalie is the plus size heroine we all needed in our lives right now. She’s a full-figured gal who didn’t let the haters win. She took that hate and made herself more determined. With the way the world is going, we needed someone like her.

This book is a victory for anyone that needs more encouragement, who needs to feel comfortable in their own skin. This is that extra pat on the back we all need and a must read for everyone.

Natalie’s big heart will win you over immediately. Don’t hesitate when it comes to this book.

 

IMG_2250

 

Thank you, Turner Publishing!!!