*First Line Friday 10/08/21* The Death of Jane Lawrence- Caitlin Starling

Practical, unassuming Jane Shoringfield has done the calculations, and decided that the most secure path forward is this: a husband, in a marriage of convenience, who will allow her to remain independent and occupied with meaningful work. Her first choice, the dashing but reclusive doctor Augustine Lawrence, agrees to her proposal with only one condition: […]

Read More

*Goodreads Monday 5/03/21* Mina and the Undead- Amy McCaw

New Orleans Fang Fest, 1995.Mina’s having a summer to die for. 17-year-old Mina, from England, arrives in New Orleans to visit her estranged sister, Libby. After growing up in Whitby, the town that inspired Dracula, Mina loves nothing more than a creepy horror movie. She can’t wait to explore the city’s darkest secrets – vampire […]

Read More

It’s Monday, What Are You Reading? 4/12/21

Good Morning, Readers! I hope everyone enjoyed their weekend and had some fun. I’m still reading Miss Subways by David Duchovny and I’m almost done. I plan on finishing that up before I start my new picks for this week. This week I plan on reading a signed book from Waterstones, a book by a […]

Read More

*First Line Friday 4/9/21* Lakesedge- Lyndall Clipstone

A lush gothic fantasy about monsters and magic, set on the banks of a cursed lake. Perfect for fans of Naomi Novik and Brigid Kemmerer. There are monsters in the world. When Violeta Graceling arrives at haunted Lakesedge estate, she expects to find a monster. She knows the terrifying rumors about Rowan Sylvanan, who drowned […]

Read More

*Goodreads Monday 3/15/21* Madam- Phoebe Wynne

A darkly feminist, modern gothic tale pitched against a haunting backdrop, and populated by an electrifying cast of heroines For 150 years, high above rocky Scottish cliffs, Caldonbrae Hall has sat untouched, a beacon of excellence in an old ancestral castle. A boarding school for girls, it promises that the young women lucky enough to […]

Read More

*ARC Review* Down Comes the Night by Allison Saft

  Title: Down Comes the Night Author: Allison Saft Publisher: Wednesday Books Release Date: March 2, 2021 Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy, Romance Summary: He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw the magic in his darkness. Wren Southerland’s reckless use of magic has cost her everything: she’s been dismissed from the Queen’s Guard and separated […]

Read More

*First Line Friday 2/19/21* Down Comes the Night- Allison Saft

He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw the magic in his darkness. Wren Southerland’s reckless use of magic has cost her everything: she’s been dismissed from the Queen’s Guard and separated from her best friend—the girl she loves. So when a letter arrives from a reclusive lord, asking Wren to come to his […]

Read More

*First Line Friday 1/29/21* Within These Wicked Walls- Lauren Blackwood

What the heart desires, the house destroys… Kiersten White meets Tomi Adeyemi in this Ethiopian-inspired debut fantasy retelling of Jane Eyre. Andromeda is a debtera—an exorcist hired to cleanse households of the Evil Eye. When a handsome young heir named Magnus Rochester reaches out to hire her, Andromeda quickly realizes this is a job like no […]

Read More

*Goodreads Monday 11/30/20* The Bitterwine Oath- Hannah West

Every fifty years, a cult claims twelve men to murder in a small Texas town. Can one girl end the cycle of violence – and save the boy who broke her heart? San Solano, Texas is a quaint town known for its charm, hospitality, and history of murder. Twice now, twelve men have been brutally […]

Read More

*Review* The Devil All the Time- Donald Ray Pollock

Now a Netflix film starring Tom Holland, Robert Pattinson, and Bill Skarsgård.   A dark and riveting vision of 1960s America that delivers literary excitement in the highest degree. In The Devil All the Time, Donald Ray Pollock has written a novel that marries the twisted intensity of Oliver Stone’s Natural Born Killers with the religious and Gothic over­tones […]

Read More