*Goodreads Monday 5/03/21* Mina and the Undead- Amy McCaw

New Orleans Fang Fest, 1995.Mina’s having a summer to die for. 17-year-old Mina, from England, arrives in New Orleans to visit her estranged sister, Libby. After growing up in Whitby, the town that inspired Dracula, Mina loves nothing more than a creepy horror movie. She can’t wait to explore the city’s darkest secrets – vampire […]

Read More

It’s Monday, What Are You Reading? 4/12/21

Good Morning, Readers! I hope everyone enjoyed their weekend and had some fun. I’m still reading Miss Subways by David Duchovny and I’m almost done. I plan on finishing that up before I start my new picks for this week. This week I plan on reading a signed book from Waterstones, a book by a […]

Read More

*First Line Friday 4/9/21* Lakesedge- Lyndall Clipstone

A lush gothic fantasy about monsters and magic, set on the banks of a cursed lake. Perfect for fans of Naomi Novik and Brigid Kemmerer. There are monsters in the world. When Violeta Graceling arrives at haunted Lakesedge estate, she expects to find a monster. She knows the terrifying rumors about Rowan Sylvanan, who drowned […]

Read More

*Goodreads Monday 3/15/21* Madam- Phoebe Wynne

A darkly feminist, modern gothic tale pitched against a haunting backdrop, and populated by an electrifying cast of heroines For 150 years, high above rocky Scottish cliffs, Caldonbrae Hall has sat untouched, a beacon of excellence in an old ancestral castle. A boarding school for girls, it promises that the young women lucky enough to […]

Read More

*ARC Review* Down Comes the Night by Allison Saft

  Title: Down Comes the Night Author: Allison Saft Publisher: Wednesday Books Release Date: March 2, 2021 Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy, Romance Summary: He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw the magic in his darkness. Wren Southerland’s reckless use of magic has cost her everything: she’s been dismissed from the Queen’s Guard and separated […]

Read More

*First Line Friday 2/19/21* Down Comes the Night- Allison Saft

He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw the magic in his darkness. Wren Southerland’s reckless use of magic has cost her everything: she’s been dismissed from the Queen’s Guard and separated from her best friend—the girl she loves. So when a letter arrives from a reclusive lord, asking Wren to come to his […]

Read More

*First Line Friday 1/29/21* Within These Wicked Walls- Lauren Blackwood

What the heart desires, the house destroys… Kiersten White meets Tomi Adeyemi in this Ethiopian-inspired debut fantasy retelling of Jane Eyre. Andromeda is a debtera—an exorcist hired to cleanse households of the Evil Eye. When a handsome young heir named Magnus Rochester reaches out to hire her, Andromeda quickly realizes this is a job like no […]

Read More

*Goodreads Monday 11/30/20* The Bitterwine Oath- Hannah West

Every fifty years, a cult claims twelve men to murder in a small Texas town. Can one girl end the cycle of violence – and save the boy who broke her heart? San Solano, Texas is a quaint town known for its charm, hospitality, and history of murder. Twice now, twelve men have been brutally […]

Read More

*Review* The Devil All the Time- Donald Ray Pollock

Now a Netflix film starring Tom Holland, Robert Pattinson, and Bill Skarsgård.   A dark and riveting vision of 1960s America that delivers literary excitement in the highest degree. In The Devil All the Time, Donald Ray Pollock has written a novel that marries the twisted intensity of Oliver Stone’s Natural Born Killers with the religious and Gothic over­tones […]

Read More

*Arc Review* Catherine House- Elisabeth Thomas

A seductive, gothic-infused tale of literary suspense—the debut of a spectacular new voice —about a dangerously curious young undergraduate whose rebelliousness leads her to discover a shocking secret involving an exclusive circle of students . . . and the dark truth beneath her school’s promise of prestige. You are in the house and the house […]

Read More