It’s Monday, What Are You Reading? 9/9/19

I haven’t been reading much lately but I hope to read the books listed below.

What are you reading this week?

sword divider

The Good Luck Girls- Charlotte Nicole Davis

43263229Westworld meets The Handmaid’s Tale in this stunning fantasy adventure from debut author Charlotte Nicole Davis.

Aster, the protector
Violet, the favorite
Tansy, the medic
Mallow, the fighter
Clementine, the catalyst

THE GOOD LUCK GIRLS

The country of Arketta calls them Good Luck Girls–they know their luck is anything but. Sold to a “welcome house” as children and branded with cursed markings. Trapped in a life they would never have chosen.

When Clementine accidentally murders a man, the girls risk a dangerous escape and harrowing journey to find freedom, justice, and revenge in a country that wants them to have none of those things. Pursued by Arketta’s most vicious and powerful forces, both human and inhuman, their only hope lies in a bedtime story passed from one Good Luck Girl to another, a story that only the youngest or most desperate would ever believe.

It’s going to take more than luck for them all to survive.

IMG_2250

sword divider

What You Don’t Know- Merry Jones

Nora Warren hides her dark side well because she’s had years of practice.

The wife of a lawyer and mother of two girls, she slides under everyone’s radar, never revealing what she really is—a murderer.

At least, she feels like one.

Nora’s plagued by the secrets surrounding her older brother’s suicide decades earlier. Yet she lives as though he never existed.

Now, in her thirties, Nora suspects her husband, Dave, is having an affair with her friend, the wife of a leading US Senate candidate. When her friend’s body is discovered—another apparent suicide—Nora is left with haunting secrets and choices that dredge up her grim nature, the side of herself that no one ever sees. Will she act on her impulses? Mustn’t she?

How far will Nora go to protect the life she has built for herself?

IMG_2250

sword divider

The New Kid- Jerry Craft

36005510Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Gene Luen Yang, New Kid is a timely, honest graphic novel about starting over at a new school where diversity is low and the struggle to fit in is real, from award-winning author-illustrator Jerry Craft.

Seventh-grader Jordan Banks loves nothing more than drawing cartoons about his life. But instead of sending him to the art school of his dreams, his parents enroll him in a prestigious private school known for its academics, where Jordan is one of the few kids of color in his entire grade.

As he makes the daily trip from his Washington Heights apartment to the upscale Riverdale Academy Day School, Jordan soon finds himself torn between two worlds—and not really fitting into either one. Can Jordan learn to navigate his new school culture while keeping his neighborhood friends and staying true to himself?

IMG_2250

 

*Nerd Blast* How to Make Friends With the Dark- Kathleen Glasgow

00.jpg

Click on the image above to check out more about this book release!

How to Make Friends with the DarkHardcover: 432 pages
Publisher: Delacorte Press (April 9, 2019)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1101934751
ISBN-13: 978-1101934753

Here is what happens when your mother dies.

It’s the brightest day of summer and it’s dark outside. It’s dark in your house, dark in your room, and dark in your heart. You feel like the darkness is going to split you apart.

That’s how it feels for Tiger. It’s always been Tiger and her mother against the world. Then, on a day like any other, Tiger’s mother dies. And now it’s Tiger, alone.

Here is how you learn to make friends with the dark.

IMG_2250

Purchase Links

AMAZON  |  BARNES & NOBLE

BOOK DEPOSITORY

sword divider

Praise for HOW TO MAKE FRIENDS WITH THE DARK

“A rare and powerful novel, How to Make Friends with the Dark dives deep into the heart of grief and healing with honesty, empathy, and grace.” —Karen M. McManus, New York Times bestselling author of One of Us Is Lying and Two Can Keep a Secret

“In this raw, powerful, and heartbreaking meditation on loss and grief, Glasgow writes with unflinching beauty. We meet Tiger Tolliver at her most broken—at her darkest moment—and yet, somehow, How to Make Friends with the Dark teaches us how to let the light in. ” —Julie Buxbaum, New York Times bestselling author of Tell Me Three Things

“How to Make Friends with the Dark is breathtaking and heartbreaking, and I loved it with all my heart. It’s for all of us who have loved and lost and need to find our power again.” —Jennifer Niven, New York Times bestselling author of All the Bright Places and Holding Up the Universe

“A bold, fearlessly crafted story of loss and love. Kathleen Glasgow’s prose commands the page with its trademark beauty and grace, and Tiger Tolliver is a character readers will root for every step of the way—and won’t soon forget.” —Courtney Summers, New York Times bestselling author of Sadie

“Kathleen Glasgow is the rare type of skilled storyteller that knows you have to hurt your characters before putting them back together. I loved every word of this lyrical and devastating novel.” —Kara Thomas, author of The Cheerleaders

“Gripping, powerful, and full of truth—an emotional level many novelists strive to reach, but few achieve.” —Kami Garcia, #1 New York Times bestselling coauthor of Beautiful Creatures and author of Broken Beautiful Hearts

“A visceral, gut-wrenching, and heartbreaking take on the grieving process. I cried within the first fifty pages. You’ll want to hug Tiger and never let her go. Kathleen has done it again!” —Tiffany Jackson, author of Allegedly and Monday’s Not Coming

“Magnificent. A beautiful, heartbreaking alleluia to survival.” —Brendan Kiely, New York Times bestselling author of All American Boys and Tradition

“A book as fierce, tender, and rare as its aptly named heroine, Tiger. How to Make Friends with the Dark is a gorgeously nuanced meditation on grief and family, and the incredible love that can pull you through the darkest of times.” —Meg Leder, author of Letting Go of Gravity

“Beautifully written and profoundly moving. From page one, Tiger Tolliver grabs your heart with her pain, her courage, her humor—and she doesn’t let go. Tiger, Cake, and Thaddeus (and Mae-Lynn, and Shayna, and Lupe, and LaLa, and Sarah, and Leonard, and June . . . all of Glasgow’s deeply wrought characters) will stay with me for a long time to come.” —Alyssa Sheinmel, New York Times bestselling author of A Danger to Herself and Others

“Tiger Tolliver is so vulnerable and real, you’ll want to turn your porch light on and have the spare room ready for her. In How to Make Friends with the Dark, Kathleen Glasgow’s prose begs and pleads and grasps at the light, like a prayer.” —Lygia Day Peñaflor, author of All of This Is True and Unscripted Joss Byrd

“Lyrical, devastating, witty and raw—this is Kathleen Glasgow at her best. Her fans will not be disappointed to fall in love with Tiger Tolliver, no matter how much she breaks their hearts.” —Bonnie-Sue Hitchcock, author of The Smell of Other People’s Houses

“This story hauls you into its heart to live the pain in all its careening, messy, and miraculous glory. A brilliant, honest, raw look at what it really means to lose someone essential and make grudging peace with what is gained in the exchange. You will never forget Tiger Tolliver. Not ever.” —Estelle Laure, author of But Then I Came Back and This Raging Light

“Visceral and traumatic, pulsing with ache,…[this novel is] a gritty, raw account of surviving tragedy one minute at a time.” —Kirkus Reviews

“[A] standout….Tiger’s distinctive, haunting voice will be hard to forget.” —Booklist

sword divider

Giveaway:

Two winners will win a copy of How to Make Friends With the Dark. Click on the image below to enter. Good Luck!!
maxresdefault

sword divider

Kathleen Glasgow.jpgKathleen Glasgow is the author of the New York Times best-selling novel, Girl in Pieces. She lives in Arizona. Her second young adult novel, How to Make Friends With the Dark, will be published by Delacorte/Random House 4/9/19.
Girl in Pieces has been named to best of lists by The New York Public Library, Amazon, TAYSHA, Goop, TeenVogue, BN Teen, Refinery29, EW.com, TeenReads, and more.
Girl in Pieces has been published in 24 countries.
Girl in Pieces was longlisted for the Waterstones Book Prize and the CILIP Carnegie Medal.
Girl in Pieces was a finalist for the Amelia Walden Book Award, an Amelia Bloomer Project selection, and a Target Club Book pick. The Target edition contains extras and a special letter to the reader. Order here.

WEBSITE: https://www.kathleenglasgowbooks.com/
TWITTER: @kathglasgow  
GOODREADS: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/13479611.Kathleen_Glasgow
FACEBOOK: https://www.facebook.com/kathleen.glasgow
INSTAGRAM: https://www.instagram.com/misskathleenglasgow/

sword divider

Thank you, Jean Book Nerd for allowing us to share information about this amazing book. Click on the image below to find out more about this release and upcoming blog tours!!

stacy

*First Line Friday* Heroine- Mindy McGinnis

30254032   Three screws in her hip.
Two months until spring training.
One answer to all her problems.

Mickey Catalan is no stranger to the opioid epidemic in her small town. There are obituaries of classmates who “died suddenly” and stories of overdoses in gas station bathrooms—but none of that is her. No, Mickey is a star softball catcher—one part of a dynamic duo with her best friend and pitcher Carolina—about to start her senior season with hopes of college recruitment. Until a car accident shatters that plan, along with her hip and Carolina’s arm.

Now Mickey is hurting. She can barely walk, much less crouch behind the plate. Yet a little white pill can make it better. After all, it is doctor prescribed. But when the prescription runs out, Mickey turns to an elderly woman who pushes hot meatloaf and a baggie full of oxy across the kitchen counter. It’s there Mickey makes new friends—other athletes in pain, others with just time to kill—and finds peaceful acceptance, a place where she can find words more easily than she ever has before. But as the pressure to be Mickey Catalan heightens, her desire for pills becomes less about pain and more about want, something that could send her spiraling out of control.

IMG_2250

“When I wake up, all my friends are dead.”

stacy

*Arc Review* Calypso- David Sedaris

“It’s so funny to be called an asshole by someone who doesn’t know you, but then again knows you so perfectly.”

It’s never a dull moment when you’re reading anything by David Sedaris. It brightens your dark and gloomy days.

This is one of those books where you get something more from the author. Something that he doesn’t share that often in his books. We get up close and personal, a look into his life as the fearing old man that he claims to be.

David does this thing where he makes you laugh at things that you really shouldn’t be laughing at. I know, I know, he made me make my place in hell and I’m definitely okay with that if it means that I get to hysterically laugh at his stories. Then he does something else entirely surprising, he makes me think. He has me thinking to the point where I wake up in the middle of the night just to talk to myself about the points he has made.

He has a true gift and it shines brightly in this collection. He held nothing back and powered through with pure emotion and hilarity. I would love to be a fly on his wall for a few days.

Thank you, Little, Brown for holding an amazing giveaway!