*Saturday Spotlight* Forestborn by Elayne Audrey Becker

Title: Forestborn Author: Elayne Audrey Becker Publisher: Tor Teen Release Date: August 31, 2021 Genres: Fantasy Summary: TO BE BORN OF THE FOREST IS A GIFT AND A CURSE. Rora is a shifter, as magical as all those born in the wilderness–and as feared. She uses her abilities to spy for the king, traveling under different guises […]

Read More

*Saturday Spotlight* A Dragonbird in the Fern by Laura Rueckert

Title: A Dragonbird in the Fern Author: Laura Rueckert Publisher: Flux Books Release Date: August 3, 2021 Genres: Fantasy Representation: Dyslexic protagonist Content/Trigger Warnings: Murder Summary: When an assassin kills Princess Jiara’s older sister Scilla, her vengeful ghost is doomed to walk their city of glittering canals, tormenting loved ones until the murderer is brought to justice. While the entire […]

Read More

*Saturday Spotlight* The Dead and the Dark by Courtney Gould

Title: The Dead and the Dark Author: Courtney Gould Publisher: Wednesday Books Release Date: August 3, 2021 Genres: Fantasy, Horror, LGBT Representation: F/F Romance Tropes: Enemies to lovers Content/Trigger Warnings: Child death, claustrophobia (buried alive), drowning, homophobia (verbal), murder, slurs Summary: Courtney Gould’s thrilling debut The Dead and the Dark is about the things that lurk in dark corners, the parts of you that can’t […]

Read More

*Saturday Spotlight* Happily Ever Afters by Elise Bryant

Title: Happily Ever Afters Author: Elise Bryant Publisher: Balzer + Bray Release Date: January 5, 2021 Page Count: 336 pages Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance Summary: Sixteen-year-old Tessa Johnson has never felt like the protagonist in her own life. She’s rarely seen herself reflected in the pages of the romance novels she loves. The only place […]

Read More

*Saturday Spotlight* A Curse of Roses by Diana Pinguicha

Title: A Curse of Roses Author: Diana Pinguicha Publisher: Entangled Teen Release Date: December 1, 2020 Page Count: 352 pages Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy, Retellings, LGBT Summary: With just one touch, bread turns into roses. With just one bite, cheese turns into lilies. There’s a famine plaguing the land, and Princess Yzabel is wasting food simply […]

Read More

*Saturday Spotlight* These Violent Delights by Chloe Gong

Title: These Violent Delights Author: Chloe Gong Publisher: Margaret K. McElderry Books Release Date: November 17, 2020 Page Count: 464 pages Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy, Retellings, Historical, Romance Summary: Perfect for fans of The Last Magician and Descendant of the Crane, this heart-stopping debut is an imaginative Romeo and Juliet retelling set in 1920s Shanghai, with rival gangs and a monster […]

Read More

*Saturday Spotlight* Rebel Rose by Emma Theriault

Saturday Spotlight is back!! We took a bit of a long break, but super excited to bring back our Saturday feature, which puts the spotlight on an upcoming YA debut release! Title: Rebel Rose (The Queen’s Council #1) Author: Emma Theriault Publisher: Disney-Hyperion Release Date: November 10, 2020 Page Count: 352 pages Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy, […]

Read More

*Saturday Spotlight* Songs From the Deep by Kelly Powell

Title: Songs From the Deep Author: Kelly Powell Publisher: Margaret K. McElderry Books Release Date: November 5, 2019 Page Count: 320 pages Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy, Mystery, Historical Fiction Summary: A girl searches for a killer on an island where deadly sirens lurk just beneath the waves in this gripping, atmospheric debut novel. The sea holds many secrets. Moira […]

Read More

*Saturday Spotlight* A River of Royal Blood by Amanda Joy

Title: A River of Royal Blood Author: Amanda Joy Publisher: G.P. Putnam’s Sons Books for Young Readers Release Date: October 29, 2019 Page Count: 368 pages Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy Summary: An enthralling debut perfect for fans of Children of Blood and Bone set in a North African-inspired fantasy world where two sisters must fight to the death to win the […]

Read More

*Saturday Spotlight* Fireborne by Rosaria Munda

Title: Fireborne Author: Rosaria Munda Publisher: G.P. Putnam’s Sons Books for Young Readers Release Date: October 15, 2019 Page Count: 448 pages Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy, Dragons Summary: Game of Thrones meets Red Rising in a debut young adult fantasy that’s full of rivalry, romance… and dragons. Annie and Lee were just children when a brutal revolution changed their world, giving everyone—even […]

Read More