It’s Monday, What Are You Reading? 10/7/19

This week I’m going to be reading a few highly anticipated arcs, an arc I won on Instagram, and I’ll let you know what I read last weekend that wasn’t on my list.

What are you reading?

sword divider

I started a book on Saturday afternoon and finished it on Sunday. It was the perfect fall read to set the mood for Halloween.

Winterwood- Shea Ernshaw

43822698Deluxe edition with special embellishments on first printing only.

From New York Times bestselling author of The Wicked Deep comes a haunting romance perfect for fans of Practical Magicwhere dark fairy tales and enchanted folklore collide after a boy, believed to be missing, emerges from the magical woods—and falls in love with the witch determined to unravel his secrets.

Be careful of the dark, dark wood…

Especially the woods surrounding the town of Fir Haven. Some say these woods are magical. Haunted, even.

Rumored to be a witch, only Nora Walker knows the truth. She and the Walker women before her have always shared a special connection with the woods. And it’s this special connection that leads Nora to Oliver Huntsman—the same boy who disappeared from the Camp for Wayward Boys weeks ago—and in the middle of the worst snowstorm in years. He should be dead, but here he is alive and left in the woods with no memory of the time he’d been missing.

But Nora can feel an uneasy shift in the woods at Oliver’s presence. And it’s not too long after that Nora realizes she has no choice but to unearth the truth behind how the boy she has come to care so deeply about survived his time in the forest, and what led him there in the first place. What Nora doesn’t know, though, is that Oliver has secrets of his own—secrets he’ll do anything to keep buried because as it turns out, he wasn’t the only one to have gone missing on that fateful night all those weeks ago.

For as long as there have been fairy tales, we have been warned to fear what lies within the dark, dark woods and in Winterwood, New York Times bestselling author Shea Ernshaw, shows us why.

IMG_2250

sword divider

The Starless Sea- Erin Morgenstern

43575115. sy475 From the New York Times bestselling author of The Night Circus, a timeless love story set in a secret underground world–a place of pirates, painters, lovers, liars, and ships that sail upon a starless sea.

Zachary Ezra Rawlins is a graduate student in Vermont when he discovers a mysterious book hidden in the stacks. As he turns the pages, entranced by tales of lovelorn prisoners, key collectors, and nameless acolytes, he reads something strange: a story from his own childhood. Bewildered by this inexplicable book and desperate to make sense of how his own life came to be recorded, Zachary uncovers a series of clues–a bee, a key, and a sword–that lead him to a masquerade party in New York, to a secret club, and through a doorway to an ancient library, hidden far below the surface of the earth.

What Zachary finds in this curious place is more than just a buried home for books and their guardians–it is a place of lost cities and seas, lovers who pass notes under doors and across time, and of stories whispered by the dead. Zachary learns of those who have sacrificed much to protect this realm, relinquishing their sight and their tongues to preserve this archive, and also those who are intent on its destruction.

Together with Mirabel, a fierce, pink-haired protector of the place, and Dorian, a handsome, barefoot man with shifting alliances, Zachary travels the twisting tunnels, darkened stairwells, crowded ballrooms, and sweetly-soaked shores of this magical world, discovering his purpose–in both the mysterious book and in his own life.

IMG_2250

sword divider

The Madness Blooms- Mackenzie Lee

45043431Love is a fever.

Holland, 1637. Lena Schoon is an orphan, sold to the owner of a flower shop, along with her older brother, Bas. When Lena and Bas’s master dies, Bas inherits the flower shop at the height of Tulip Mania, a time when single tulip bulbs were being sold for prices equivalent to that of Amsterdam’s finest houses.

Along with the shop come debts that threaten to uproot the siblings, leaving them without a home or a trade. In desperation, Lena hatches a plan to dress as a man and attempt to sell a fake Semper Augustus bulb, the rarest and most valuable tulip of the time, to the one merchant in town with the money to pay for it.

But when Lena meets the merchant’s daughter Elsje, she is smitten. And her plan to save her shop and her home is suddenly challenged, both by her heart putting down its roots, and also by questions about her own identity that emerge the longer she lives as a man…

Mackenzi Lee’s The Madness Blooms is perfect for the teen and adult fans of Jessie Burton (The Miniaturist)Tracy Chevalier (Girl with a Pearl Earring), Sarah Waters (Tipping the Velvet), and Ruta Sepetys (Salt to the Sea).

IMG_2250

sword divider

Resurrection Girls- Ava Morgyn

44174348Olivia Foster hasn’t felt alive since her little brother drowned in the backyard pool three years ago. Then Kara Hallas moves in across the street with her mother and grandmother, and Olivia is immediately drawn to these three generations of women. Kara is particularly intoxicating, so much so that Olivia not only comes to accept Kara’s morbid habit of writing to men on death row, she helps her do it. They sign their letters as the Resurrection Girls.

But as Kara’s friendship pulls Olivia out of the dark fog she’s been living in, Olivia realizes that a different kind of darkness taints the otherwise lively Hallas women—an impulse that is strange, magical, and possibly deadly.

IMG_2250

Top Ten Tuesday 6/18/19

Top Ten Tuesday was created by The Broke and the Bookish in June of 2010 and was moved to That Artsy Reader Girl in January of 2018. It was born of a love of lists, a love of books, and a desire to bring bookish friends together.

This week’s topic is: Most Anticipated Releases of the Second Half of 2019

It was really difficult to narrow this list down to ten but I accomplished that but I feel awful that I left a lot off this list.

Which books made your list?

36472241  40220881  41861647  43298077  39352771  43263485  43821592  43263680  26032912  40148425

stacy

WWW Wednesdays: It’s All Fantasy to Me

Hello, lovely book peeps! I can’t believe it’s already April; this year has flown by so fast! There have been so many amazing Young Adult books released, and I can’t wait to see what the rest of the year holds in the book world!

WWWEvery Wednesday, we participate in a blog post known as ‘WWW Wednesdays.’ This was originally hosted by MizB at A Daily Rhythm before moving to Taking on a World of Words. 

You may be wondering what the three Ws stand for. The Three Ws are:

What are you currently reading?
What did you recently finish reading?
What do you think you’ll read next?


What am I currently reading?

Have you ever loved a book so much that you don’t want it to end? That’s how I currently am with Sky in the Deep by Adrienne Young. I have about 100 pages left and I love the world, the characters, the writing so much that I don’t want it to come to a close. If you do not have this book on your radar, it needs to be!

I’m not as far in Riven as I am Sky in the Deep, but I am pretty close. And, boy, this is a beautifully intricate book! The characters act real (which I love) and the fantasy aspect is different from anything I have read. I can’t wait to share my review of Riven by Jane Alvey Harris next week!


What did I recently finish reading?

The Wicked Deep by Shea Ernshaw is a beautifully stunning read, with memorable characters and plot twists. My review will be posted very soon, so keep a look out! I recommend adding The Wicked Deep to your TBR pile!

What intrigued me the most about Ash Princess by Laura Sebastian was the gorgeous cover. From there, I wanted to read that book, not even knowing what the plot was about. I finished Ash Princess in a timely fashion, but I will say I was not as hooked to the story as I was the cover. The plot was wonderful and I loved Theo, but there were some parts of the story that caused the story to not be as memorable as I would have liked. My review will be posted soon! Overall, though, it was not a bad fantasy book!


What do I think I’ll read next?

This question is simple for me. I have a blog schedule I follow, so I know what books to read next and when to post reviews.

Secret Keeper by Jane Alvey Harris is the second book in the My Myth Trilogy (Riven being the first book). I can’t wait to continue to follow Emily’s journey and see what happens next!

I have been impatiently waiting to read Onyx & Ivory by Mindee Arnett for a couple months now. I’m luckily part of the amazing Onyx & Ivory street team, so I have been gearing up to read this book for quite a while now.


As you have probably pieced together, all the above books are fantasy reads. Fantasy is my go-to genre, so it’s never a surprise to me when my reading pile is all fantasy.

What book(s) are you currently reading? What book(s) are you excited to read next?

♥Nikole