*Blog Tour: Review & Giveaway* The Good Luck Girls- Charlotte Nicole Davis

image1 (1)

*Click on the image above to find out more about this tour!!*

sword 1

SYNOPSIS

The Good Luck GirlsWestworld meets The Handmaid’s Tale in this stunning fantasy adventure from debut author Charlotte Nicole Davis.

Aster, the protector
Violet, the favorite
Tansy, the medic
Mallow, the fighter
Clementine, the catalyst

THE GOOD LUCK GIRLS

The country of Arketta calls them Good Luck Girls–they know their luck is anything but. Sold to a “welcome house” as children and branded with cursed markings. Trapped in a life they would never have chosen.

When Clementine accidentally murders a man, the girls risk a dangerous escape and harrowing journey to find freedom, justice, and revenge in a country that wants them to have none of those things. Pursued by Arketta’s most vicious and powerful forces, both human and inhuman, their only hope lies in a bedtime story passed from one Good Luck Girl to another, a story that only the youngest or most desperate would ever believe.

It’s going to take more than luck for them all to survive.

sword 1

Praise for THE GOOD LUCK GIRLS

“Don’t underestimate the girls in the Arkettan welcome houses because you might just lose your life. Davis’ The Good Luck Girls is a dust-filled, bloody fairytale set in a menacing world haunted with the reminder―the price of freedom is high, but it’s worth fighting for at all costs. Rise up, teen readers!” ―Dhonielle Clayton, New York Times bestselling author of The Belles

“This dystopian debut is deeply connected to today’s social issues, and readers will feel that impact.” ―Booklist  

sword 1

My Review:

“I’m damned if I’ll accept that wickedness is what it takes to survive this life.”

There have been quite a few books released recently that have that Thelma and Louise feel to it. This one was described as that with a mix of Westworld (?) and The Handmaid’s Tale. So I knew that it was going to be enjoyable. What I wasn’t expecting was to be blown away. This book blew my freaking mind and I loved it.

The Good Luck Girls have quite the reputation of starting trouble and not following orders. At young ages, girls are sold to Welcome Houses, so their families could pay off debts owed and live a more comfortable life. Welcome Houses are brothels for men that are traveling through and need a little companionship.

These girls clean and prepare things for the day, until they turn sixteen. Then they are expected to do whatever these Brags (client) say. The happier the Brag, the better your life will be at the Welcome House.

It’s Clementines birthday and this will be her first night working as a Good Luck Girl. Her first Brag is a well-known man and she’s terrified. Things get a little out of hand and she begs him to stop. With him not listening, she grabs the first thing she can get her hands on and hits him a few times until he releases her. But what she soon finds out is that she accidentally killed him. Not knowing what to do, she finds her sister, Aster and they come up with a plan.

Instead of doing the right thing and telling someone, they decide to run. Runaway to a place where all this can be left in the past. Some other girls who are close to Clem and Aster want to escape too. Now it’s five girls on the journey of a lifetime to escape their horrible lives.

But nothing in life is ever that easy and they are on the run. Hiding in dark and creepy places and running into a lot of trouble along the way. They soon find out that they are wanted and the only way to absolve their woes is to see the Lady Ghost. The stories say that she will help them evade the bounty on their heads and save them from punishment.

Is that tale too good to be true? Or will they make it to the light at the end of the tunnel?

This book hooked me just from the synopsis. I wish that I didn’t work all the time because I would have finished this in one day. It was that damn good. This fantasy western will make you look at that genre in a new light and will change your mind for the better.

The Good Luck Girls was one hell of a debut and I need book two instantly. This was a beautiful start to a fantastic series and this author will only grow more amazing as time goes on. This book was powerful and you’ll find yourself addicted to their story. You should add this to your tbr. Yes, it will get you out of your comfort zone but it’ll be totally worth it.

sword 1

Giveaway:

Giveaway is open to International. | Must be 13+ to Enter
 

–  5 Winners will receive a Copy of THE GOOD LUCK GIRLS by Charlotte Nicole Davis.

ENDS: OCTOBER 21, 2019
Click on the image below to enter. Good Luck!!!
maxresdefault
sword 1
ABOUT THE AUTHOR
 

Charlotte Nicole Davis

Charlotte Nicole Davis is the author of The Good Luck Girls, a young adult fantasy novel releasing in Fall 2019 with Tor Teen. A graduate of The New School’s Writing for Children MFA program, Charlotte loves comic book movies and books with maps in the front. She currently lives in Brooklyn with a cat with a crooked tail.
PHOTO CONTENT FROM BRETT PRUITT

WEBSITE: https://www.charlottenicoledavis.com/

sword 1
Thank you, Jean @ JeanBookNerd, Tor Teen, and Charlotte Nicole Davis for allowing us to be apart of this amazing tour. For more information about this tour and upcoming tours, click the button below.
Happy Reading!!

sword 1

Tour Schedule:

WEEK ONE
SEPTEMBER 30th MONDAY JeanBookNerd SPOTLIGHT
OCTOBER 1st TUESDAY Twirling Book Princess EXCERPT
OCTOBER 2nd WEDNESDAY A Court of Coffee and Books REVIEW
OCTOBER 2nd WEDNESDAY Kait Plus Books EXCERPT
OCTOBER 3rd THURSDAY Bibliobibuli YA INTERVIEW
OCTOBER 4th FRIDAY Novel Lives REVIEW
OCTOBER 4th FRIDAY Movies, Shows, & Books EXCERPT
WEEK TWO
OCTOBER 7th MONDAY BookHounds YA REVIEW
OCTOBER 8th TUESDAY Lisa Loves Literature REVIEW
OCTOBER 8th TUESDAY Pages Below the Vaulted Sky REVIEW
OCTOBER 9th WEDNESDAY Casia’s Corner REVIEW
OCTOBER 10th THURSDAY Lauren’s Bookshelf REVIEW
OCTOBER 10th THURSDAY Starlight Reads REVIEW
OCTOBER 11th FRIDAY Nay’s Pink Bookshelf REVIEW

It’s Monday, What Are You Reading? 9/9/19

I haven’t been reading much lately but I hope to read the books listed below.

What are you reading this week?

sword divider

The Good Luck Girls- Charlotte Nicole Davis

43263229Westworld meets The Handmaid’s Tale in this stunning fantasy adventure from debut author Charlotte Nicole Davis.

Aster, the protector
Violet, the favorite
Tansy, the medic
Mallow, the fighter
Clementine, the catalyst

THE GOOD LUCK GIRLS

The country of Arketta calls them Good Luck Girls–they know their luck is anything but. Sold to a “welcome house” as children and branded with cursed markings. Trapped in a life they would never have chosen.

When Clementine accidentally murders a man, the girls risk a dangerous escape and harrowing journey to find freedom, justice, and revenge in a country that wants them to have none of those things. Pursued by Arketta’s most vicious and powerful forces, both human and inhuman, their only hope lies in a bedtime story passed from one Good Luck Girl to another, a story that only the youngest or most desperate would ever believe.

It’s going to take more than luck for them all to survive.

IMG_2250

sword divider

What You Don’t Know- Merry Jones

Nora Warren hides her dark side well because she’s had years of practice.

The wife of a lawyer and mother of two girls, she slides under everyone’s radar, never revealing what she really is—a murderer.

At least, she feels like one.

Nora’s plagued by the secrets surrounding her older brother’s suicide decades earlier. Yet she lives as though he never existed.

Now, in her thirties, Nora suspects her husband, Dave, is having an affair with her friend, the wife of a leading US Senate candidate. When her friend’s body is discovered—another apparent suicide—Nora is left with haunting secrets and choices that dredge up her grim nature, the side of herself that no one ever sees. Will she act on her impulses? Mustn’t she?

How far will Nora go to protect the life she has built for herself?

IMG_2250

sword divider

The New Kid- Jerry Craft

36005510Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Gene Luen Yang, New Kid is a timely, honest graphic novel about starting over at a new school where diversity is low and the struggle to fit in is real, from award-winning author-illustrator Jerry Craft.

Seventh-grader Jordan Banks loves nothing more than drawing cartoons about his life. But instead of sending him to the art school of his dreams, his parents enroll him in a prestigious private school known for its academics, where Jordan is one of the few kids of color in his entire grade.

As he makes the daily trip from his Washington Heights apartment to the upscale Riverdale Academy Day School, Jordan soon finds himself torn between two worlds—and not really fitting into either one. Can Jordan learn to navigate his new school culture while keeping his neighborhood friends and staying true to himself?

IMG_2250