Hello Girls- Brittany Cavallaro & Emily Henry

36596442. sy475 Best friends are forged by fire. For Winona Olsen and Lucille Pryce, that fire happened the night they met outside the police station—both deciding whether to turn their families in.

Winona has been starving for life in the seemingly perfect home that she shares with her seemingly perfect father, celebrity weatherman Stormy Olsen. No one knows that he locks the pantry door to control her eating and leaves bruises where no one can see them.

Lucille has been suffocating beneath the needs of her mother and her drug-dealing brother, wondering if there’s more out there for her than disappearing waitress tips and generations of barely getting by.

One harrowing night, Winona and Lucille realize they can’t wait until graduation to start their new lives. They need out. Now. All they need is three grand, fast. And really, a stolen convertible to take them from Michigan to Las Vegas can’t hurt.

IMG_2250

My Review:

“I don’t know you or your business, honey, but I can tell you this- you two are the Lamborghini if problems.”

Thelma and Louise is a movie that everyone should see at least once. I’ve seen it a while back but I remember the gist of it. This is a modern version of that movie with a riot of problems and a deep friendship that no one can come between.

Winona and Lucille became fast friends years ago. They spotted each other overthinking turning their families into the police but they found serenity in each other. When one is in need, they meet to de-stress and have a little fun.

Winona Olsen seems to have the picture-perfect life from the outside. Her dad is a celebrity meteorologist, he’s a star Dad, putting his daughter on a pedestal after her Mom overdosed, and they have more money than they know what to do with. But on the inside, Winona fears her Father. He places locks on the cabinets and refrigerator, hides her car keys, and punishes her in the worst ways imaginable whenever she breaks a tiny little rule. The only thing she knows for sure is that she needs out.

Lucille Pryce hasn’t been lucky in the family department. She and her Mom work daily to pay all the bills while her Brother stays at home and deals. Her life is suffocating but her only savior is Winona.

Winona has believed that her mother died when she was young but she finds something to make her believe otherwise. She makes a plan with Lucille that will get them away from their horrible lives earlier and way before they graduate High School.

Lucille and Winona come up with a plan to go find Winona’s Mom in Las Vegas. They steal a car and hit the open road. With a lot of lawbreaking, swindling people, and evading a drug dealer and a hot-tempered Dad, they will stop at nothing to find this woman.

This book was a wild ride. From the opening line, you knew that this was going to be something to talk about. There were so much heartbreak and anguish but these two found something in each other to hold each other up. Lucille and Winona were two characters that I want to be best friends with. They were supportive, sassy, and their hi-jinx were outrageous. Where’s the sign-up for this best friends club?

Hello Girls was a riot of a time. This was an amazing book with lots of girl power moments. Who knew that flawed characters could be so perfect!

It’s Monday, What Are You Reading? 9/9/19

I haven’t been reading much lately but I hope to read the books listed below.

What are you reading this week?

sword divider

The Good Luck Girls- Charlotte Nicole Davis

43263229Westworld meets The Handmaid’s Tale in this stunning fantasy adventure from debut author Charlotte Nicole Davis.

Aster, the protector
Violet, the favorite
Tansy, the medic
Mallow, the fighter
Clementine, the catalyst

THE GOOD LUCK GIRLS

The country of Arketta calls them Good Luck Girls–they know their luck is anything but. Sold to a “welcome house” as children and branded with cursed markings. Trapped in a life they would never have chosen.

When Clementine accidentally murders a man, the girls risk a dangerous escape and harrowing journey to find freedom, justice, and revenge in a country that wants them to have none of those things. Pursued by Arketta’s most vicious and powerful forces, both human and inhuman, their only hope lies in a bedtime story passed from one Good Luck Girl to another, a story that only the youngest or most desperate would ever believe.

It’s going to take more than luck for them all to survive.

IMG_2250

sword divider

What You Don’t Know- Merry Jones

Nora Warren hides her dark side well because she’s had years of practice.

The wife of a lawyer and mother of two girls, she slides under everyone’s radar, never revealing what she really is—a murderer.

At least, she feels like one.

Nora’s plagued by the secrets surrounding her older brother’s suicide decades earlier. Yet she lives as though he never existed.

Now, in her thirties, Nora suspects her husband, Dave, is having an affair with her friend, the wife of a leading US Senate candidate. When her friend’s body is discovered—another apparent suicide—Nora is left with haunting secrets and choices that dredge up her grim nature, the side of herself that no one ever sees. Will she act on her impulses? Mustn’t she?

How far will Nora go to protect the life she has built for herself?

IMG_2250

sword divider

The New Kid- Jerry Craft

36005510Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Gene Luen Yang, New Kid is a timely, honest graphic novel about starting over at a new school where diversity is low and the struggle to fit in is real, from award-winning author-illustrator Jerry Craft.

Seventh-grader Jordan Banks loves nothing more than drawing cartoons about his life. But instead of sending him to the art school of his dreams, his parents enroll him in a prestigious private school known for its academics, where Jordan is one of the few kids of color in his entire grade.

As he makes the daily trip from his Washington Heights apartment to the upscale Riverdale Academy Day School, Jordan soon finds himself torn between two worlds—and not really fitting into either one. Can Jordan learn to navigate his new school culture while keeping his neighborhood friends and staying true to himself?

IMG_2250

 

It’s Monday, What Are You Reading? 8/19/19

This week I’ll be finishing up a book that I started yesterday, a book that my friend got me at BEA, an arc the publisher sent me a few weeks back, and a surprise book.

What are you reading?

The Lost and the Scarred- T. Marie Alexander

47147360. sy475 ROX
When I was six, Wran Belmont found me buried in snow and gave me a place to live.

He became my best friend.

When I was fifteen, I gave him all of me—only for him to abandon me.

Now, he’s back and expecting the lost, scarred girl he’s left behind. I’m not that girl anymore. And while I may still have secrets, it will not be as easy for him to retrieve them this time around.

WRAN
When I was eleven, my father lost his job and became a pathetic excuse for a father. A few months later I found Roxanna Raine buried in snow, barely hanging on to life.

Her father was the reason mine was an alcoholic, and I thought about letting her freeze to death.

One look in her eyes and she became my kryptonite. I swore I would get my revenge, though, even if it was on the fair-skinned beauty.

When I was nineteen, I left Rox without an explanation—broken-hearted and even more lost.

Now, I’m back and I’ll do anything to make up for the stolen time.

IMG_2250

sword 1

Will My Cat Eat My Eyeballs? Big Questions from Tiny Mortals about Death- Caitlin Doughty

43785830Best-selling author and mortician Caitlin Doughty answers real questions from kids about death, dead bodies, and decomposition.

Every day, funeral director Caitlin Doughty receives dozens of questions about death. What would happen to an astronaut’s body if it were pushed out of a space shuttle? Do people poop when they die? Can Grandma have a Viking funeral?

In Will My Cat Eat My Eyeballs?, Doughty blends her mortician’s knowledge of the body and the intriguing history behind common misconceptions about corpses to offer factual, hilarious, and candid answers to thirty-five distinctive questions posed by her youngest fans. In her inimitable voice, Doughty details lore and science of what happens to, and inside, our bodies after we die. Why do corpses groan? What causes bodies to turn colors during decomposition? And why do hair and nails appear longer after death? Readers will learn the best soil for mummifying your body, whether you can preserve your best friend’s skull as a keepsake, and what happens when you die on a plane. Beautifully illustrated by Dianné Ruz, Will My Cat Eat My Eyeballs? shows us that death is science and art, and only by asking questions can we begin to embrace it.

IMG_2250

sword 1

Hello Girls- Brittany Cavallaro & Emily Henry

36596442. sy475 Best friends are forged by fire. For Winona Olsen and Lucille Pryce, that fire happened the night they met outside the police station—both deciding whether to turn their families in.

Winona has been starving for life in the seemingly perfect home that she shares with her seemingly perfect father, celebrity weatherman Stormy Olsen. No one knows that he locks the pantry door to control her eating and leaves bruises where no one can see them.

Lucille has been suffocating beneath the needs of her mother and her drug-dealing brother, wondering if there’s more out there for her than disappearing waitress tips and generations of barely getting by.

One harrowing night, Winona and Lucille realize they can’t wait until graduation to start their new lives. They need out. Now. All they need is three grand, fast. And really, a stolen convertible to take them from Michigan to Las Vegas can’t hurt.

IMG_2250

sword 1

The Year They Fell- David Kreizman

40864750When a horrible tragedy unites five very different high school seniors, they discover the worst moment of your life can help determine who you really are in the powerful YA novel, The Year They Fell.

Josie, Jack, Archie, Harrison, and Dayana were inseparable as preschoolers. But that was before high school, before parties and football and getting into the right college. Now, as senior year approaches, they’re basically strangers to each other.

Until they’re pulled back together when their parents die in a plane crash. These former friends are suddenly on their own. And they’re the only people who can really understand how that feels.

To survive, the group must face the issues that drove them apart, reveal secrets they’ve kept since childhood, and discover who they’re meant to be. And in the face of public scrutiny, they’ll confront mysteries their parents left behind—betrayals that threaten to break the friendships apart again.

A new family is forged in this heartbreaking, funny, and surprising book from award-winning storyteller David Kreizman. It’s a deeply felt, complex journey into adulthood, exploring issues of grief, sexual assault, racism, and trauma.

IMG_2250