*Review* Birthday- Meredith Russo

43924017. sy475 Meet Eric and Morgan.

Born on the same day, at the same time, in the same place. They’ve always shared this one day together, but as they grow up they begin to grow apart.

Everyone expects Eric to get a football scholarship, but no one knows he’s having second thoughts.
Former quarterback Morgan feels utterly alone, as she wrestles with the difficult choice to live as her true self.

Both of them are struggling to be the person they know they are. Who better to help than your best friend?

Told on one day every year, over six years, this is a story about how change pulls people apart… and how love brings them back together.

An LGBTQ+ YA One Day perfect for fans of Love, Simon, Birthday is a beautiful love story by the best-selling #ownvoices author of If I Was Your Girl.

IMG_2250

sword 2

“In a flash, I see a hundred memories. His hair blowing in his face, or him dangling from a tree branch and pulling it behind his ear, or him laughing and whipping it carelessly to one side, or…. so many other times. I’d never realized it until now. That long hair makes my heart stop.”

I’ve been dying to read this since I’ve heard about it and it’s the only reason why I wanted to purchase the Illumicrate box. I knew this book was going to open my eyes and my heart and I wasn’t wrong. It was heartbreaking and deeply beautiful.

Morgan and Eric share the same birthday. On the day that they were born, there was a snowstorm that shut down their small town and their families became fast friends. Every year they spend their birthdays together and celebrate.

This book starts on their thirteenth birthday. Morgan’s Mom passed away and she left her a letter and gift for the birthdays that she won’t see. But things don’t change, Morgan and Eric spend the day together but Morgan is carrying a lot of weight on her shoulders. She thought she was going to finally tell Eric the truth but it just won’t come out.

As birthdays pass, they slowly start to grow apart. Football, family, and other friends start to drive a wedge between them. Morgan and Erics lives become a downward spiral and only they can save each other.

As they both struggle to become the real person they are on the inside, will they let change break their bond? Or will love be their guide to bring them back together?

This book travels through the lives of Eric and Morgan from the age of 13-18 for one day a year. As each year passes, the more drama follows them. Some secrets are kept, friendships break apart, and dark family issues come to light. It was amazing. Eric and Morgan are two delightful and heartbreaking teens who live through rough times but make you instantly fall in love with them.

Birthday was a book that touched me deeply. This reaches into your chest and grabs your heart. It was such a beautiful story of an unbreakable friendship and the bond Morgan and Eric share is just amazing. There were scenes that were hard to swallow but it made the story that much more powerful. This is one brave book that I won’t easily forget.

Happy Reading!

Top Ten Tuesday 6/25/19

Top Ten Tuesday was created by The Broke and the Bookish in June of 2010 and was moved to That Artsy Reader Girl in January of 2018. It was born of a love of lists, a love of books, and a desire to bring bookish friends together.

This weeks topic is: Books on My Summer 2019 TBR

And yet again, it was really tough to narrow this list down. I left so much off.

What made your list?

43801817  42952728  41473840    43924017    40599820    45184250    43568394    43386636    43263004    36472241

 

stacy

 

Beast- Brie Spangler

“I’d see a big old globby grin on my face because talking to her is like sunshine in February, and in Portland that is no small thing.”

A very unique and current take on a love story. Do I hint an up-to-date Beauty and the Beast feel? 

Transphobia is alive and shameful in the world we live in. What we have to remember is that we are all equal and must love one another to help the world grow with the times. Being a Trans individual shouldn’t come with a target upon someones back and shouldn’t make anyone feel shame. Be proud, be happy and show your true colors. 

Dylan is known as the Beast. He’s tall, huge and can throw you through a brickwall just by flicking you. His best friend JP is always by his side to have him do his dirty work. 

Not feeling quite himself, he climbs to the roof and “falls” off.

Waking up in a hospital, sends his life into overdrive. He must face the music and go to a self help group.

His first day, he meets the most gorgeous girl he has ever had the pleasure to look at. Jamie is who makes his palms sweat and heart race. She reveals a big secret in group and Dylan doesn’t pay attention and says it’s cool.

This leads to the romance of a lifetime. Can they both look past each others differences and be together?

JP finds out about Jamie and tells the entire school. Dylan learns that Jamie is transgender and he walks away from her. 

Looking for a sign from his dad that passed, he gets nothing and leaves the greatest love of his life due to no sign and bullying.

Will Dylan ever pull his head out of his ass and seek who he truly desires? Will JP ever grow up and let sleeping lions be? Will tranagendered individuals ever get the acceptance they deserve?

The love Dylan and Jamie share is one people wish they have. I’m ready to read a new chapter in the life of Jamie and Dylan.

The bullying that takes part in this is heartbreaking. Just because someone is different, doesn’t mean that you can ridicule them and make them feel small. We are all human and can do what we feel is correct and if you aren’t happy with that then look at yourself and fix what makes you insecure.

4/5