Stacy’s Top Ten Disappointing Reads of 2019

With great books comes awful books. We must take the good and the bad to figure out what we love to read in this world. 2019 had some amazing books released but we also had some horrendous, eye-rolling, nauseating books that put me to sleep thrown in-between. These are my top ten disappointing reads of 2019.

Which books did you dislike?

sword 1

*Click on the book cover to read the synopsis on Goodreads*

36118682  36192182  37545571  41147279. sy475   40265773. sy475   43568394  42265183  35997816  44889980  32860355

 

stacy

 

Stacy’s Favorite Books of 2019

It’s that time of year again where I give you my absolute favorite books of 2019. Hopefully, there are some new books on here that you’ll love just as much as I did.

What were your favorites of 2019?

sword 1

*Click on the book cover to read the synopsis on Goodreads*

40404714 40539136 36472241. sy475 43822698 44174348 41154322 43225180. sy475 41555964. sy475 42359583 46352789. sy475

Books that almost made the list:

*The Fever King- Victoria Lee

*Enchant- Micalea Smeltzer

*Birthday- Meredith Russo

*Unpregnant- Jenni Hendriks

*The Chain- Adrian McKinty

 

 

stacy

Top Ten Tuesday 12/24/19

Top Ten Tuesday was created by The Broke and the Bookish in June of 2010 and was moved to That Artsy Reader Girl in January of 2018. It was born of a love of lists, a love of books, and a desire to bring bookish friends together.

This weeks topic is: Books I Hope to Find Under My Tree

(Click on the image of the book to read the synopsis on Goodreads)

sword divider

Nevernight- Jay Kristoff

30969076

sword divider

Ninth House- Leigh Bardugo- Target Edition

Ninth House - Target Exclusive Edition by Leigh Bardugo (Hardcover) - image 1 of 1

sword divider

The Starless Sea- Erin Morgenstern- U.K. Edition

42730332. sx318

sword divider

Normal People- Sally Rooney

41057294. sy475

sword divider

 

Regretting You- Colleen Hoover

46117419. sy475

sword divider

These Witches Don’t Burn- Isabel Sterling

36484081. sy475

sword divider

Scream With Me: The Enduring Legacy of The Misfits- Tom Bejgrowicz

43908956

sword divider

The Ocean at the End of the Lane- Neil Gaiman

27161228

sword divider

The Deathless Girls- Kiran Millwood Hargrave

 

43453718. sy475

sword divider

Betty Bites Back: Stories to Scare the Patriarchy- Mindy McGinnis 

41591785. sy475

It’s Monday (On a Tuesday), What Are You Reading? 10/22/19

Technically, You Started It- Lana Wood Johnson

41016382. sx318 When a guy named Martin Nathaniel Munroe II texts you, it should be obvious who you’re talking to. Except there’s two of them (it’s a long story), and Haley thinks she’s talking to the one she doesn’t hate.

A question about a class project rapidly evolves into an all-consuming conversation. Haley finds that Martin is actually willing to listen to her weird facts and unusual obsessions, and Martin feels like Haley is the first person to really see who he is. Haley and Martin might be too awkward to hang out in real life, but over text, they’re becoming addicted to each other.

There’s just one problem: Haley doesn’t know who Martin is. And Martin doesn’t know that Haley doesn’t know. But they better figure it out fast before their meet-cute becomes an epic meet-disaster . . .

IMG_2250

sword 1

Covet (Enchanted)- Micalea Smeltzer

35412494. sy475

On the run from the Iniquitous, Mara feels lost and helpless. Without Theo by her side, she’s left bare and vulnerable, but she’s a fighter and, with blood boiling in her veins, she vows to avenge him.

The Iniquitous have already taken so much from her, and she refuses to sit back and let them take anything else. She trains harder, preparing herself physically and mentally to take them on. As her magic grows stronger, so does the voice speaking to her from beyond the grave.

She wants to believe it’s real, to give in to what feels right, but if she does, her mind might be lost forever.

 

IMG_2250

sword 1

 

The How & The Why- Cynthia Hand

43884147. sy475 A poignant exploration of family and the ties that bind, perfect for fans of Far From the Tree, from New York Times bestselling author Cynthia Hand.

Today Melly had us writing letters to our babies…

Cassandra McMurtrey has the best parents a girl could ask for. They’ve given Cass a life she wouldn’t trade for the world. She has everything she needs—except maybe the one thing she wants. Like, to know who she is. Where she came from. Questions her adoptive parents can’t answer, no matter how much they love her.

But eighteen years ago, someone wrote Cass a series of letters. And they may just hold the answers Cass has been searching for.

Alternating between Cass’s search for answers and letters from the pregnant teen who gave her up for adoption, this voice-driven narrative is the perfect read for fans of Nina LaCour and Jandy Nelson.

IMG_2250

 

sword 1

The Never Tilting World- Rin Chupeco

36321739Frozen meets Mad Max in this epic teen fantasy duology bursting with star-crossed romance, immortal heroines, and elemental magic, perfect for fans of Furyborn.

Generations of twin goddesses have long ruled Aeon. But seventeen years ago, one sister’s betrayal defied an ancient prophecy and split their world in two. The planet ceased to spin, and a Great Abyss now divides two realms: one cloaked in perpetual night, the other scorched by an unrelenting sun.

While one sister rules Aranth—a frozen city surrounded by a storm-wracked sea —her twin inhabits the sand-locked Golden City. Each goddess has raised a daughter, and each keeps her own secrets about her sister’s betrayal.

But when shadowy forces begin to call their daughters, Odessa and Haidee, back to the site of the Breaking, the two young goddesses —along with a powerful healer from Aranth, and a mouthy desert scavenger —set out on separate journeys across treacherous wastelands, desperate to heal their broken world. No matter the sacrifice it demands.

IMG_2250

Top Ten Tuesday 8/13/19

Top Ten Tuesday was created by The Broke and the Bookish in June of 2010 and was moved to That Artsy Reader Girl in January of 2018. It was born of a love of lists, a love of books, and a desire to bring bookish friends together.

This weeks topic is: Book Characters I’d Love to Be Besties With

  1. King Cardan- The Wicked King by Holly Black
  2. Cassidy Blake- City of Ghosts by Victoria Schwab
  3. Julian Santos- Caraval by Stephanie Garber
  4. Nomi Tessaro- Grace and Fury by Tracy Banghart
  5. Serge A. Storms- Florida Roadkill by Tim Dorsey
  6. Brooklyn Stevens- The Merciless by Danielle Vega
  7. Charlotte Davis- Girl in Pieces by Kathleen Glasgow
  8. Evelyn Gray- Where Did You Sleep Last Night by Lynn Crosbie
  9. Elijah Roe- How to Hang a Witch- Adriana Mather
  10. Tyler Durden- Fight Club by Chuck Palahniuk

Click on the title of each book to check out the synopsis on Goodreads.

Which characters made your list?

stacy

 

Top Ten Tuesday 6/25/19

Top Ten Tuesday was created by The Broke and the Bookish in June of 2010 and was moved to That Artsy Reader Girl in January of 2018. It was born of a love of lists, a love of books, and a desire to bring bookish friends together.

This weeks topic is: Books on My Summer 2019 TBR

And yet again, it was really tough to narrow this list down. I left so much off.

What made your list?

43801817  42952728  41473840    43924017    40599820    45184250    43568394    43386636    43263004    36472241

 

stacy

 

Top Ten Tuesday 6/18/19

Top Ten Tuesday was created by The Broke and the Bookish in June of 2010 and was moved to That Artsy Reader Girl in January of 2018. It was born of a love of lists, a love of books, and a desire to bring bookish friends together.

This week’s topic is: Most Anticipated Releases of the Second Half of 2019

It was really difficult to narrow this list down to ten but I accomplished that but I feel awful that I left a lot off this list.

Which books made your list?

36472241  40220881  41861647  43298077  39352771  43263485  43821592  43263680  26032912  40148425

stacy