Top Ten Tuesday 8/13/19

Top Ten Tuesday was created by The Broke and the Bookish in June of 2010 and was moved to That Artsy Reader Girl in January of 2018. It was born of a love of lists, a love of books, and a desire to bring bookish friends together.

This weeks topic is: Book Characters I’d Love to Be Besties With

  1. King Cardan- The Wicked King by Holly Black
  2. Cassidy Blake- City of Ghosts by Victoria Schwab
  3. Julian Santos- Caraval by Stephanie Garber
  4. Nomi Tessaro- Grace and Fury by Tracy Banghart
  5. Serge A. Storms- Florida Roadkill by Tim Dorsey
  6. Brooklyn Stevens- The Merciless by Danielle Vega
  7. Charlotte Davis- Girl in Pieces by Kathleen Glasgow
  8. Evelyn Gray- Where Did You Sleep Last Night by Lynn Crosbie
  9. Elijah Roe- How to Hang a Witch- Adriana Mather
  10. Tyler Durden- Fight Club by Chuck Palahniuk

Click on the title of each book to check out the synopsis on Goodreads.

Which characters made your list?

stacy

 

It’s Monday, What Are You Reading? 7/1/19

This week I’m going to read two books that my friends picked me up at BEA, one book a publisher sent me, and a book my co-blogger picked me up at ALA.

What are you reading this week?

sword 2

Full Throttle- Joe Hill

43801817In this masterful collection of short fiction, Joe Hill dissects timeless human struggles in thirteen relentless tales of supernatural suspense, including “In The Tall Grass,” one of two stories co-written with Stephen King, basis for the terrifying feature film from Netflix.

A little door that opens to a world of fairy tale wonders becomes the blood-drenched stomping ground for a gang of hunters in “Faun.” A grief-stricken librarian climbs behind the wheel of an antique Bookmobile to deliver fresh reads to the dead in “Late Returns.” In “By the Silver Water of Lake Champlain,” two young friends stumble on the corpse of a plesiosaur at the water’s edge, a discovery that forces them to confront the inescapable truth of their own mortality . . . and other horrors that lurk in the water’s shivery depths. And tension shimmers in the sweltering heat of the Nevada desert as a faceless trucker finds himself caught in a sinister dance with a tribe of motorcycle outlaws in “Throttle,” co-written with Stephen King.

Featuring two previously unpublished stories, and a brace of shocking chillers, Full Throttle is a darkly imagined odyssey through the complexities of the human psyche. Hypnotic and disquieting, it mines our tormented secrets, hidden vulnerabilities, and basest fears, and demonstrates this exceptional talent at his very best.

IMG_2250

Purchase Links

Amazon  |  Barnes & Noble  

Book Depository  |  Indie Bound

sword 2

Guts- Raina Telgemeier

42097226. sx318 A true story from Raina Telgemeier, the #1 New York Timesbestselling, multiple Eisner Award-winning author of SmileSistersDrama, and Ghosts!

Raina wakes up one night with a terrible upset stomach. Her mom has one, too, so it’s probably just a bug. Raina eventually returns to school, where she’s dealing with the usual highs and lows: friends, not-friends, and classmates who think the school year is just one long gross-out session. It soon becomes clear that Raina’s tummy trouble isn’t going away… and it coincides with her worries about food, school, and changing friendships. What’s going on?

Raina Telgemeier once again brings us a thoughtful, charming, and funny true story about growing up and gathering the courage to face — and conquer — her fears.

IMG_2250

Purchase Links

Amazon  |  Barnes & Noble  

Book Depository  |  Indie Bound

sword 2

Here There are Monsters- Amelinda Bèrubè

36445966. sy475 The Blair Witch Project meets Imaginary Girls in this story of codependent sisterhood, the struggle to claim one’s own space, and the power of secrets

Sixteen-year-old Skye is done playing the knight in shining armor for her insufferable younger sister, Deirdre. Moving across the country seems like the perfect chance to start over.

In their isolated new neighborhood, Skye manages to fit in, but Deirdre withdraws from everyone, becoming fixated on the swampy woods behind their house and building monstrous sculptures out of sticks and bones.

Then Deirdre disappears.

And when something awful comes scratching at Skye’s window in the middle of the night, claiming she’s the only one who can save Deirdre, Skye knows she will stop at nothing to bring her sister home.

IMG_2250

Purchase Links

Amazon  |  Barnes & Noble  

Book Depository  |  Indie Bound

sword 2

On the Corner of Love and Hate- Nina Bocci

42619403. sy475 For fans of Christina Lauren and Lauren Layne comes a delightfully sassy and sexy romance about a campaign manager who reluctantly works with the local Lothario to help revamp his image for the upcoming mayoral elections, only to discover that he’s hiding something that can turn both their lives upside down.

What’s a campaign manager’s worst nightmare? A smooth-talking charmer who’s never met a scandal that he didn’t like.

When Emmanuelle Peroni’s father—and mayor of her town—asks her to help rehab Cooper Endicott’s image, she’s horrified. Cooper drives her crazy in every way possible. But he’s also her father’s protégé, and she can’t say no to him without him finding out the reason why: Cooper and her have a messy past. So Emmanuelle reluctantly launches her father’s grand plan to get this Casanova someone to settle down with and help him lose his lothario reputation.

Cooper Endicott wanted to run for Mayor, but he never wanted the drama that went with it. Now that he’s on the political hamster wheel, the other candidates are digging up everything from his past. Even though he’s doing all the right things, his colorful love life is the sticking point for many of the conservative voters. He wants to win, badly, and he knows that if he wants any chance of getting a vote from the female population, he needs to change his image. The only problem? He might just be falling in love with the one person he promised not to pursue: the Mayor’s off-limits daughter.

A perfect blend of humor and heart, On the Corner of Love and Hate is the first in a new series from USA TODAY bestselling author Nina Bocci.

IMG_2250

Purchase Links

Amazon  |  Barnes & Noble  

Book Depository  |  Indie Bound

 

stacy

Top Ten Tuesday 6/25/19

Top Ten Tuesday was created by The Broke and the Bookish in June of 2010 and was moved to That Artsy Reader Girl in January of 2018. It was born of a love of lists, a love of books, and a desire to bring bookish friends together.

This weeks topic is: Books on My Summer 2019 TBR

And yet again, it was really tough to narrow this list down. I left so much off.

What made your list?

43801817  42952728  41473840    43924017    40599820    45184250    43568394    43386636    43263004    36472241

 

stacy

 

Mid-Year Top Ten

July is upon us and the first half of the year flew by. I’m going to give you my top ten reads from January-June in no kind of order.

Enjoy!!

1. The Strange Fascinations Of Noah Hypnotik by David Arnold

2. The Wicked King by Holly Black

3. Legendary by Stephanie Garber

4. Rosie Colored Glasses by Brianna Wolfson

5. Love and Other Words by Christina Lauren

6. The Falling Between Us by Ash Parsons

7. Bring Me Their Hearts by Sara Wolf

8. Noir by Christopher Moore

9. Call Me By Your Name by André Aciman

10. Furyborn by Claire Legrand

Which books are in your top ten?

Happy Reading!!

November- TBR!!!!

TBR November

 

Here we are in another new month and here is the stack I would like to tackle in November.

The Ones Who Got Away- Roni Loren

goodreads11-1024x409

 

Lost Crow Conspiracy- Rosalyn Eves

goodreads11-1024x409

 

Too Late- C. Hoover

goodreads11-1024x409

 

The Immortalist- Chloe Benjamin

goodreads11-1024x409

 

Reign of the Fallen- Sarah Glenn Marsh

goodreads11-1024x409

 

The Pope of Palm Beach- Tim Dorsey

goodreads11-1024x409

 

Batman: Nightwalker- Marie Lu

goodreads11-1024x409

 

Noir- Christopher Moore

goodreads11-1024x409

 

I have received a lot of great reads from publishers and I can’t wait to dig in.

Which books are on your TBR this month?

Happy reading!!!

Till Death- Jennifer Armentrout


“A finger had hung from each dress. And I knew then I was going to die in that room, like so many others. I’d screamed and screamed until my hoarse voice went out….”


Just reading the description, I knew this was going to be a book that shocked and shook me to my core. It leaves you guessing right up until the end. And that is my favorite kind of story. 
Whenever you read a mystery, whodunnit, you think you found all the clues and solved the great mystery of who was The Groom. I had my top two creepy choices and was disappointed when I thought my main choice was right. And then…. out of left field came an all time hauntingly shocking twist and you come out as being so totally wrong. That the actual psycho was someone you thought you knew and could trust. And whoa! What in the actual hell!!? 
Can you imagine what your life would be like after you escape the inescapable? Being the only survivor of a serial killer. Sasha has to live with the dread of those days every single day of her life. And after ten years, it doesn’t get any easier. 
One day after leaving the side of Cole, she makes her way to her car. Only to be kidnapped by a mysterious guy that parked his van next to her car. The Groom was looking for another victim and thought Sasha would make the perfect bride in his murderous game. After believing that her life is over, she gets one more feat of strength and fights back. Blindsiding her captor and getting away. Not being ale to live in the same town as where this all went down, she moves away. 
Ten years later and she decides that maybe it’s time to move back, help her Mom with her Inn and move on with her life. Seeing everything brings back old memories. Some good and some extremely traumatizing. But she pushes through and rekindles an old romance with Cole. The one who got away.
Trying to start over with Cole and taking over the Inn, things start happening that bring up the past. Someone is tormenting her for being the sole survivor. Taking girls that come into the path of Sasha at one point and making them his next victim. As things start creeping closer and closer to home, things spiral out of control for Sasha as she meets the repeat Groom and he has come to take her breath away…..
This is one of the better suspenseful novels that I have ever read. I made my husband travel out of town to a bookstore just to pick this up and it was worth every penny, every mile, and every earth-shattering twist and turn. If you love romance, serial killers and heart-stopping moments then this is for you. Will have you guessing all the way through. 
Remember to really watch who you keep close to you….
5/5