*Saturday Spotlight* The Dead and the Dark by Courtney Gould

Title: The Dead and the Dark Author: Courtney Gould Publisher: Wednesday Books Release Date: August 3, 2021 Genres: Fantasy, Horror, LGBT Representation: F/F Romance Tropes: Enemies to lovers Content/Trigger Warnings: Child death, claustrophobia (buried alive), drowning, homophobia (verbal), murder, slurs Summary: Courtney Gould’s thrilling debut The Dead and the Dark is about the things that lurk in dark corners, the parts of you that can’t […]

Read More

*First Line Friday 7/23/21* The Corpse Queen by Heather M. Herrman

In this dark and twisty feminist historical thriller, a teenage girl starts a new life as a grave robber but quickly becomes entangled in a murderer’s plans. Soon after her best friend Kitty mysteriously dies, orphaned seventeen-year-old Molly Green is sent away to live with her “aunt.” With no relations that she knows of, Molly […]

Read More

*First Line Friday 7/16/21* Defy the Night by Brigid Kemmerer

From New York Times bestselling author Brigid Kemmerer comes a blockbuster fantasy series about a kingdom divided by corruption, the prince desperately holding it together, and the girl who will risk everything to bring it crashing down. The kingdom of Kandala is on the brink of disaster. Rifts between sectors have only worsened since a […]

Read More

Interview with Tori Bovalino, Author of The Devil Makes Three + Giveaway!

Title: The Devil Makes Three Author: Tori Bovalino Release Date: August 10, 2021 Publisher: Page Street Kids Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy, Horror Summary: Tess Matheson only wants three things: time to practice her cello, for her sister to be happy, and for everyone else to leave her alone. Instead, Tess finds herself working all summer at […]

Read More

*Mini ARC Review* Cast in Firelight by Dana Swift

  Title: Cast in Firelight Author: Dana Swift Publisher: Delacorte Press Release Date: January 19, 2021 Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy, Romance Summary: The first book in an epic, heart-pounding fantasy duology about two royal heirs betrothed to be married, but whose loyalties are torn, and a ruthless enemy who threatens their world, perfect for fans of […]

Read More

*Saturday Spotlight* Happily Ever Afters by Elise Bryant

Title: Happily Ever Afters Author: Elise Bryant Publisher: Balzer + Bray Release Date: January 5, 2021 Page Count: 336 pages Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance Summary: Sixteen-year-old Tessa Johnson has never felt like the protagonist in her own life. She’s rarely seen herself reflected in the pages of the romance novels she loves. The only place […]

Read More

*Saturday Spotlight* A Curse of Roses by Diana Pinguicha

Title: A Curse of Roses Author: Diana Pinguicha Publisher: Entangled Teen Release Date: December 1, 2020 Page Count: 352 pages Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy, Retellings, LGBT Summary: With just one touch, bread turns into roses. With just one bite, cheese turns into lilies. There’s a famine plaguing the land, and Princess Yzabel is wasting food simply […]

Read More

*Saturday Spotlight* These Violent Delights by Chloe Gong

Title: These Violent Delights Author: Chloe Gong Publisher: Margaret K. McElderry Books Release Date: November 17, 2020 Page Count: 464 pages Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy, Retellings, Historical, Romance Summary: Perfect for fans of The Last Magician and Descendant of the Crane, this heart-stopping debut is an imaginative Romeo and Juliet retelling set in 1920s Shanghai, with rival gangs and a monster […]

Read More

*Saturday Spotlight* Rebel Rose by Emma Theriault

Saturday Spotlight is back!! We took a bit of a long break, but super excited to bring back our Saturday feature, which puts the spotlight on an upcoming YA debut release! Title: Rebel Rose (The Queen’s Council #1) Author: Emma Theriault Publisher: Disney-Hyperion Release Date: November 10, 2020 Page Count: 352 pages Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy, […]

Read More

Interview with Dana Swift, Author of Cast in Firelight

Title: Cast in Firelight Author: Dana Swift Release Date: January 19, 2021 Publisher: Delacorte Press Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy Summary: The first book in an epic, heart-pounding fantasy duology about two royal heirs betrothed to be married, but whose loyalties are torn, and a ruthless enemy who threatens their world, perfect for fans of Sabaa Tahir, […]

Read More