*ARC Review + Mood Board* We Speak in Storms by Natalie Lund

WSIS

Title: We Speak in Storms

Author: Natalie Lund

Publisher: Philomel Books

Release Date: September 3, 2019

Page Count: 464 pages

Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary, Magical Realism

Summary:

A powerful and haunting debut novel about friendship, acceptance, and learning to let go as the balance between the living and the dead is upended, perfect for fans of We Were Liars.

It’s been more than 50 years since a tornado tore through a drive-in movie theater in tiny Mercer, Illinois, leaving dozens of teens — a whole generation of Mercerites — dead in its wake. So when another tornado touches down in the exact same spot on the anniversary of this small-town tragedy, the town is shaken. For Brenna Ortiz, Joshua Calloway, and Callie Keller, the apprehension is more than just a feeling. Though they seem to share nothing more than a struggle to belong, the teens’ paths continue to intersect, bringing them together when they least expect it, and perhaps, when they need it most. Both the living and the dead have secrets and unresolved problems, but they may be able to find peace and move forward–if only they work together.

A beautifully told, haunting yet hopeful novel about pushing past the pain, facing the world, and finding yourself.

IMG_2250

sword 1

Purchase Links

AMAZON  |  BARNES & NOBLE

INDIE BOUND

Please note: A Court of Coffee and Books receives a small commission for any purchases made through the links above. All commission earned goes toward supporting and maintaining this blog.

sword 1

My Review

This gripping and atmospheric novel is astonishingly beautiful and heartfelt. We Speak in Storms is a powerful story about learning to let go of the past and the pain and finding yourself in a world constantly filled with tragedy. It questions what really happens after a small town tragedy and how one devastation can make it hard for anyone to move on and let go.

Fifty years ago, a deadly tornado tore through the town’s drive-in movie theater and killed many people, wiping out a complete generation. Now in present time, another tornado touches down in the same spot the drive-in movie theater was, which not only leaves the living clearly shocked, but brings together three teenagers that run into a few of the Storm Spirits, the ghosts of those who died. And through this journey, this connection, each character starts to understand the power of the past and how it can hold someone down if they don’t let go of the things they can’t change.

Natalie Lund is an extraordinary author, with gorgeous prose and beautiful world building. Lund brings readers a strong and poignant debut. Anyone who reads We Speak in Storms can connect with one of the characters in some way; the main three characters are all relatable, but each in a different way. Brenna is learning how to navigate school now that she is back to being an outcast after her boyfriend breaks up with her. Joshua is learning to be himself in a town that is not too keen on acceptance. And Callie has to learn that you can’t change the inevitable and that you only have so much time on this Earth. The different stories intertwine with each other to create a stunning debut novel that will easily leave readers pondering on their life.

Told in multiple point of views, We Speak in Storms will grip you and show you what people are like after a devastating aftermath that wiped out a whole generation. But We Speak in Storms doesn’t just address the storm, but also what we, as humans, have to do years after the devastation and while facing new and unforeseen obstacles. These depictions and scenarios feel so real and heartbreaking that it’s difficult not to feel something for these characters. The emotions and sorrow leap off each page as if it was the reader experiencing those emotions. And that right there, to me, is something I look for in any book I read: an emotional connection to share with the characters and the story. And Lund did a phenomenal job connecting it all.

We Speak in Storms is a beautifully haunting yet realistic story. Natalie Lund has weaved an emotional tale of the living and the dead, and it’s a story I will recommend to everyone.

sword 1

We Speak in Storms Mood Board

Below I put together a mood board for We Speak in Storms!

E3FC5CA2-E62C-4297-98FF-E5E344C75ED8.jpeg

sword 1

We Speak in Storms Tour Schedule

Check out the other awesome bloggers on this tour!

Week One:

September 2 – Book Princess Reviews – Books that Blend Magic and Real Life

September 3 – A Court of Coffee and Books – Moodboard + Review

September 4 – Emma Reads – Review + Inspired by the Book

September 5 – Fiction No Chaser – Review

September 6 – The Bookish Chick – Playlist + Review

Week Two:

September 9 – BW Reviews – Review

September 10 – Books and Wildflowers – Listicle: 10 Things to Keep You Occupied During a Storm

September 11 – Musings of a (Book) Girl – Listicle: Items you should pack for a Tornado

September 12 – ELA Everyday – Creative Instagram Picture + Review

September 13 – Book Fidelity – Review

*Saturday Spotlight* We Hunt the Flame by Hafsah Faizal

WHTFTitle: We Hunt the Flame (Sands of Arawiya #1)

Author: Hafsah Faizal

Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux

Release Date: May 14, 2019

Page Count: 480 pages

Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy

Summary:

People lived because she killed.
People died because he lived.

Zafira is the Hunter, disguising herself as a man when she braves the cursed forest of the Arz to feed her people. Nasir is the Prince of Death, assassinating those foolish enough to defy his autocratic father, the king. If Zafira was exposed as a girl, all of her achievements would be rejected; if Nasir displayed his compassion, his father would punish him in the most brutal of ways.

Both are legends in the kingdom of Arawiya—but neither wants to be.

War is brewing, and the Arz sweeps closer with each passing day, engulfing the land in shadow. When Zafira embarks on a quest to uncover a lost artifact that can restore magic to her suffering world and stop the Arz, Nasir is sent by the king on a similar mission: retrieve the artifact and kill the Hunter. But an ancient evil stirs as their journey unfolds—and the prize they seek may pose a threat greater than either can imagine.

Set in a richly detailed world inspired by ancient Arabia, We Hunt the Flame is a gripping debut of discovery, conquering fear, and taking identity into your own hands.

IMG_2250

sword 1

Purchase Links

Amazon  |  Barnes & Noble  |  Book Depository  |  Indie Bound

sword 1

 About the Author

Hafsah

Hafsah Faizal is an American Muslim and brand designer. She’s the founder of IceyDesigns, where she creates websites for authors and beauteous goodies for everyone else. When she’s not writing, she can be found dreaming up her next design, deciding between Assassin’s Creed and Skyrim, or traversing the world. Born in Florida and raised in California, she now resides in Texas with her family and a library of books waiting to be devoured. WE HUNT THE FLAME is her first novel. (Bio and photo provided from Goodreads)