*First Line Friday 7/30/21* Briarheart by Mercedes Lackey

From beloved fantasy author Mercedes Lackey comes a fresh and feminist reinterpretation of Sleeping Beauty. Miriam may be the daughter of Queen Alethia of Tirendell, but she’s not a princess. She’s the child of Alethia and her previous husband, the King’s Champion, who died fighting for the king, and she has no ambitions to rule. When […]

Read More

*Goodreads Monday 5/17/21* For the Wolf- Hannah Whitten

The first daughter is for the Throne. The second daughter is for the Wolf. For fans of Uprooted and The Bear and the Nightingale comes a dark fantasy novel about a young woman who must be sacrificed to the legendary Wolf of the Wood to save her kingdom. But not all legends are true, and […]

Read More

*Book Review* Sing Me Forgotten- Jessica S. Olson

Isda does not exist. At least not beyond the opulent walls of the opera house. Cast into a well at birth for being one of the magical few who can manipulate memories when people sing, she was saved by Cyril, the opera house’s owner. Since that day, he has given her sanctuary from the murderous […]

Read More

*Book Review* Miss Subways- David Duchovny

Emer is just a woman living in New York City who takes the subway, buys ice cream from the bodega on the corner, has writerly aspirations, and lives with her boyfriend, Con. But is this life she lives the only path she’s on? Taking inspiration from the myth of Emer and Cuchulain and featuring an […]

Read More

*Book Review* All the Tides of Fate by Adalyn Grace

  Title: All the Tides of Fate Author: Adalyn Grace Publisher: Imprint Release Date: February 2, 2021 Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy, Adventure, Romance Summary: Through blood and sacrifice, Amora Montara has conquered a rebellion and taken her rightful place as queen of Visidia. Now, with the islands in turmoil and the people questioning her authority, Amora […]

Read More

*Mini Book Review* Into the Heartless Wood by Joanna Ruth Meyer

  Title: Into the Heartless Wood Author: Joanna Ruth Meyer Publisher: Page Street Kids Release Date: January 12, 2021 Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy, Retellings, Romance Summary: The forest is a dangerous place, where siren song lures men and women to their deaths. For centuries, a witch has harvested souls to feed the heartless tree, using its […]

Read More

*First Line Friday 1/29/21* Within These Wicked Walls- Lauren Blackwood

What the heart desires, the house destroys… Kiersten White meets Tomi Adeyemi in this Ethiopian-inspired debut fantasy retelling of Jane Eyre. Andromeda is a debtera—an exorcist hired to cleanse households of the Evil Eye. When a handsome young heir named Magnus Rochester reaches out to hire her, Andromeda quickly realizes this is a job like no […]

Read More

*Goodreads Monday 1/25/21* Lost in the Never Woods- Aiden Thomas

When children go missing, people want answers. When children go missing in the small coastal town of Astoria, people look to Wendy for answers. It’s been five years since Wendy and her two brothers went missing in the woods, but when the town’s children start to disappear, the questions surrounding her brothers’ mysterious circumstances are […]

Read More

*First Line Friday 1/22/21* Six Crimson Cranes- Elizabeth Lim

A princess in exile, the boy she left at the altar, six enchanted cranes, and a dragon from the deepest sea… From the author of Spin the Dawn comes a breathtakingly original fantasy inspired by East Asian folklore and perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo or Tomi Adeyemi. Shiori, the only princess of Kiata, has a secret. […]

Read More

*Release Day Review* Gabriel is Cursed- Julia Goldhirsh

I helped Rose escape her glass prison, but at what cost? With each passing day it gets more difficult to tell fantasy from reality. Nightshade’s warning of a curse keeps lingering on my mind. Can he curse me if he’s dead? Rose should leave me behind. I couldn’t live with myself if she died because […]

Read More