*Review* You Had Me at Hola- Alexis Daria

48585246. sy475 RITA® Award Winning author Alexis Daria brings readers an unforgettable, hilarious rom-com set in the drama-filled world of telenovelas—perfect for fans of Jane the Virgin and The Kiss Quotient.

Leading Ladies do not end up on tabloid covers. 

After a messy public breakup, soap opera darling Jasmine Lin Rodriguez finds her face splashed across the tabloids. When she returns to her hometown of New York City to film the starring role in a bilingual romantic comedy for the number one streaming service in the country, Jasmine figures her new “Leading Lady Plan” should be easy enough to follow—until a casting shake-up pairs her with telenovela hunk Ashton Suárez.

Leading Ladies don’t need a man to be happy.

After his last telenovela character was killed off, Ashton is worried his career is dead as well. Joining this new cast as a last-minute addition will give him the chance to show off his acting chops to American audiences and ping the radar of Hollywood casting agents. To make it work, he’ll need to generate smoking-hot on-screen chemistry with Jasmine. Easier said than done, especially when a disastrous first impression smothers the embers of whatever sexual heat they might have had.

Leading Ladies do not rebound with their new costars.

With their careers on the line, Jasmine and Ashton agree to rehearse in private. But rehearsal leads to kissing, and kissing leads to a behind-the-scenes romance worthy of a soap opera. While their on-screen performance improves, the media spotlight on Jasmine soon threatens to destroy her new image and expose Ashton’s most closely guarded secret.

IMG_2250

sword divider

My Review

“Sometimes the feeling of loss faded, more like a forgotten task nagging at his attention, or a misplaced item waiting to be found. But it never truly went away.”

There’s something people don’t know about me, I love watching telenovelas. There’s something different about them that I just love. They’re exciting, steamy, and just over the top. Nothing can compare to a great telenovela. So when I heard about this book, I knew it was something that I needed to add to my life.

And let us gush over the gorgeousness that is the cover of this book. This is one that I would have picked up just by glancing at the cover. The colors pop along with the wording. The two beautiful characters on the cover are like adding icing to the cake. It’s all so lovable.

With any contemporary romance, we know that we are in for some juicy drama and I was excited but a tad bit afraid to see where this was going to lead. This one certainly delivered all of the drama and filled my need for that whiplash fighting. It honestly read as if I was reading a script for a soap opera. This was sweet, steamy, and sassy af. Not a single regret with this one!

You Had Me at Hola had everything a fantastic telenovela has to offer and I really enjoyed this book. The characters were very lovable (even when they were overreacting) and the chemistry between Jasmine and Ashton was some of the best that I’ve read in a long time. And don’t get me started on that thick sexual tension. *Phew!!* *Fans self* It was believable and charming. My fingers are crossed for a second book because I don’t think we have seen the last of Jasmine and Ashton. Their story is far from over. This is one diverse book all romance lovers should be reading!!

stacy

Posted by

There is nothing better than a great cup of coffee and an even better book.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s